We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Mistral

Mistral
Reserve with OpenTable
Mistral is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: between Berkeley & Clarendon
London, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First impressions are of a swish establishment, with plenty of servers providing a slick, professional (albeit somewhat impersonal) service.
It was very popular with larger groups and this, together with the high ceiling, stone floor and large room, made for very high noise levels - making communication difficult except at high volume. Definitely not for a special, romantic, last day of holiday meal!!
The food was very tasty and well cooked with generously sized portions.
This wouldn't be on our "return to on next visit" list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    176
    64
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
405 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Fantastic brunch”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went here for a special birthday brunch. It didn't disappoint.
I quite enjoyed all the little touches-- my tea came in a french press, they gave everyone a individual coffee cake which was fantastic and came with butter and apple butter, etc.
I got a berry, lime, and OJ drink that was fantastic. My mushroom and gruyere fritatta was good, but I wanted a bit stronger gruyere taste. They were over-zealous while clearing the table, and took our butter away when the entrees, with unbuttered toast, came. They did mix up the eggs on 2 orders, and we had to wait for them to fix them and bring them back. That was a little awkward because do you wait and let your food get cold, or eat in front of people with no food yet. All in all, everyone quite enjoyed their food once it arrived.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waterangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We dined here, from Sydney, with friends who now live in Boston and it was such a memorial experience.

Everything about this restaurant is fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannanLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One word... Brunch!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's amazing! From the sticky buns (order 'em with your drinks if you want them on time) to the spectacular Eggs Benedict. Not sure that I've ever had anything less than great here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

No matter which restaurant I go to, not just in Boston but anyplace - Mistral is always one of the best. Muscles, pizza and then steak - not sure it can be beaten. Have been going for years and it just keeps getting better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ObjectiveRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistral also viewed

 

Been to Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing