We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an outstanding dining experience”
Review of Mistral

Mistral
Reserve with OpenTable
Mistral is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: between Berkeley & Clarendon
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Always an outstanding dining experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have lived in the Boston area for many years and Mistral is among our favorite restaurants. We have consistently had outstanding meals here, generally for special occasions. There is a wide selection of delicious appetizer, entrée, and dessert items. The service is excellent and friendly. For our anniversary dinner last evening, I had the grilled portobello mushroom carpaccio, the tuna tartare, and the white asparagus salad -- all of which were perfectly prepared and delicious. My husband enjoyed the lobster gnocchi appetizer and the grilled king salmon. And we both enjoyed the "dolce vita" dark chocolate thin-crust pizza with ricotta and mascarpone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    176
    64
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had two appetizers and two entrees (all vegetarian so we cannot speak about the meat dishers). The food was done well (the Pasta -- with tomatoes and arugula was really cooked well). The pizza (the other entree we had) was very good but a bit salty. It is often our experience that the best surprises in a meal are in the appetizers -- here, the appetizers (white asparagus and mushroom carpaccio) where ok but not more than that . The chocolate sorbet we had for dessert was very good.

Overall, descent food but nothing too interesting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngryVegans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Like Paris”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The tables were tight, and the service was stuffy, and the prices were high, but that's kust how it is on the Left Bank. We love it there and we loved it here. We wanted to try more American places as we go to France quite often, but we couldn't pass this up at the suggestion of the concierge in our hotel. He was right and we tipped him greatly upon our return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful place, service it's the best,food it's to die also nothing in this restaurant is bad.expensive but good fish is fresh and we can not wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, cocktails and wine”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Always a great dinner. Tables are a bit jammed in, but the food and staff quickly take center stage. Try the seasonal rhubarb margarita to start, yum! Fois gras was insanely delicious. Liked it better thsn sorrelina this trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistral also viewed

 

Been to Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing