We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skipjack's - Best Fresh Seafood

Skipjack's - Best Fresh Seafood
Ranked #518 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Boylston & St James
Transit: We are walking distance from both the Back Bay Station(orange line and commuter rail) and the Copley T(green line).
Description: Located in the heart of the Back Bay (across the street from Trinity Church). Skipjack's has devoted itself to importing the freshest seafood from around the world and offering it at the best prices in town. Skipjack's is a local favorite. Superb seafood, prime steak and a fresh creative sushi menu. Delicious cocktails and libations with an award winning wine list.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our hotel recommend this restaurant to us and it didn't disappoint. The service was great and the food amazing. The mahi mahi was amazing. Portions are quite big so make sure you don't eat too much during the day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    104
    55
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OK, but you will find better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Perhaps our fault, but we got a fried plate. We could have eaten better in a greasy dump. Oily and soggy. Their broiled dish was excellent. Pasta had comparatively too much pasta for the (little) fish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deepaksji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett NH
Level Contributor
228 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Following a visit to the Museum of Fine Arts, we decided to walk back to the Boylston St./Copley Sq. area for dinner before heading back to NH. We have eaten at Skipjack's several times, but not for about 3 years. We were concerned when we arrived there as there were only about 3 tables occupied and two people at the bar. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that the seafood was excellent as well as the service. It's reasonably priced for Boston. We both had fish and it was well prepared and very fresh. For the price, this is one of the best seafood restaurants in Boston.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Had the clam chowder, fantastically done! Just nicely textured. Followed up with the 1.5 pound lobster baked with scallops. If you're deciding between 1.5lbs vs 2lbs, go with the 1.5 due to the actual difference vs the incremental price (can't remember how much it is). Overall, fantastic - will return. IMHO this place is better than Legal Seafood but about 10% more expensive.

Helpful?
Thank TeddyJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to eating some of Boston's legendary foods. I had a list from eatyourworld.com and was eager to start. Our hotel was close by and we arrived late, so we ate here. My husband had the scallops and they were wonderful. I had the lobster roll and it was OK, (but after I ate a few times at the food court near Fanueil Hall and could compare), I realized it wasn't that great. Anyway, we enjoyed the food and it satisfied after a long long day of traveling to get to Boston.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipjack's - Best Fresh Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Skipjack's - Best Fresh Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing