We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four hours from start to finish!”
Review of Avenue One

Avenue One
Reserve with OpenTable
Avenue One is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #418 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Washington
Transit: Red Line - Downtown Crossing Green Line - Park Street
Description: Avenue One serves contemporary, New England cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown, Avenue One is just steps from attractions, theaters, and night life. Avenue One is a great location for a hearty breakfast, power lunch, after work drinks and pre-theater meals. Executive Chef Kelly Armetta's dedication to local and sustainable cuisine has made Avenue One highly rated among locals and guests alike.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Four hours from start to finish!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A group of about 30 of us went to the restaurant where we had reserved a private dining room and had a arranged for a limited menu-- all of which should have made it easy for the restaurant. It took four hours from the time we were seated until all the checks had been processed. The food was mediocre, the room had such bad acoustics we couldn't hear the person sitting next to us, and the wait staff was overwhelmed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatChance_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly service; good vibe in the bar”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

As you enter the restaurant you pass through a bar which is a good place to meet up with your group or to gather after an event. Good wine selection and full bar. Bartenders very willing to craft drinks to your specifications. Dinner menu features local seafood prepared your way with several choices for seasoning, topping and sides as well as expected standard menu items covering sandwiches, burger, salads, steak etc. Breakfast features a buffet with omelette station which is a good value. The restaurant has attractive but not very comfortable seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Go_Ask_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Organic, with Boston Flavor”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

All the food at this Hyatt restaurant is sourced locally and is superbly fresh and organic. The chef is amazing, and created a clam chowder that rivals Legal Seafood's version. It was the richest, best-tasting chowder I think I have ever had! I also had the crabcakes and the lobster grilled cheese sandwich. Everything was wonderful, and the service was impeccable. A great impression of a Hyatt for me and a fun lunch experience. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
549 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“LOBSTER - GRUYERE SAMMIE: ECTASY”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Day one I had this for lunch....I wanted people to stop speaking as I enjoyed it, a ray of sunshine came thru the window upon our table and the angels sang Vivaldi in my head...I immediately wanted another...dinner? Room service...grilled cheese and lobster. Lunch the next day...same same. I will be craving this long time...

Also enjoyed the scrambled egg bowl with egg whites, spinach etc for breakfast...egg-cellant.

Apps in the bar one night we had the churrasco steak sampler...can I say it was as good as I enjoy in Miami? Well it was. Crab cake was crab...just crab...all crab...all num num. Best batr apps EVER!!!

Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
268 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Unimpressed with service”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

First time we ate here, before a theater performance. While the food was good/okay, but not great, the big letdown was the service. On check-in, the maitre d' asked us if we were planning to go to a performance. Not sure what relevance there was to that question. We had to wait for 10 minutes before our waiter would notice us. Our drinks arrived after another 15 minutes wait. It wasn't until 35 minutes after we got seated that our food arrived. Luckily we ordered only entrees and had given us some extra time before the performance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue One also viewed

 

Been to Avenue One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing