We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Avenue One

Avenue One
Reserve with OpenTable
Avenue One is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #585 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Washington
Transit: Red Line - Downtown Crossing Green Line - Park Street
Description: Avenue One serves contemporary, New England cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown, Avenue One is just steps from attractions, theaters, and night life. Avenue One is a great location for a hearty breakfast, power lunch, after work drinks and pre-theater meals. Executive Chef Kelly Armetta's dedication to local and sustainable cuisine has made Avenue One highly rated among locals and guests alike.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Ate dinner here twice, breakfast buffet twice. Food very good, staff delightful. Very positive time, like coming home. Except no dishes to wash!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Terrace is Fantastic”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

They just recently opened the Terrace and how fantastic it was. I weather was awesome on 6/14/2012 so I decided to check out the outdoor Venue of Avenue One "The Terrace" and I am so happy that I did. They have $4.00 nightly appetizer specials. "$4 Bites". This night was Lobster Mac and Cheese. What an amazing treat. It was certainly more than a "bite". Came in a bowl that I would think was about 10 - 12 oz in size. And it was not just lobster flavored but had nice size chunks of tail and claw meat. Keeping with the theme, I then ordered the Lobster and Crab Fondu which was amazing. And, this was only $14.00. Not sure they are making money on this or not but I was quite amazed. I do not drink, but looking at their drink menu, they have so many choices and $4.00 drafts in Boston is hard to come by. Service was great even though it seemed a bit crowded for the 1 bartender and 2 cocktail waitresses. I will certainly be back soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0hn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“food was ok, service was good”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

price was high. when I visited, construction was undertaken. hope it's done by now and the ambience is better. the bar was tiny.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great for pre-theater”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

located 1/2 a block from the Paramount and Opera House, the Hyatt offers discounted parking, and decent food at Avenue One Restaurant which serves decent food, a pre-theater 3 course dinner for $3x, and "light fare" selections for $15-20 which are more than adequate for normal appetites. Service is spotty, but decor is fine, as is the noise level. Seats in the lower bar area are very uncomfortable so one should ask to be seated at the upper restaurant level.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Typical hotel food”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We found this to be a cold and impersonal venue, with typical large-hotel food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue One also viewed

 

Been to Avenue One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing