We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sub Rolls!!!”

Al's State Street Cafe
Ranked #204 of 3,245 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Sub Rolls!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you ever make it to State Street Boston, you MUST make a trip to this café! Excellent food! Excellent prices!!! EXCELLENT STAFF!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P_Pie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    25
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Huge Subs!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great place to grab a sub for lunch. Typically there is a line out the door with people waiting just to order. If you are lucky enough to get there early you can avoid the rush. I typically order a bbq chicken sub. I find it to be delicious. The subs themselves are cheap and huge. It could probably feed you for both lunch and dinner. What makes this sub so special? The ingredients are fresh and you can tell. Even the bread feels like it is just out of the oven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mbotaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great subs to grab and go”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stop here during lunch breaks. The place is always busy during weekday lunches. There is a certain ordering system, just pay attention to the person in front of you. Subs are cheap and huge. Also very good. Everyone should experience Al's. There is a reason why its always busy....

Helpful?
1 Thank beachbum1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummo”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stumbled across this little cafe after coming up out of the subway for the first time. We were starving and a little bit lost. We wanted to try something local. Luckily we found the best sub sandwiches in the city. I had the chicken salad sub on white. The bread is clearly made fresh and is crusty and delicious. I paid $6 for a "small" which was 10 inches of sandwich. I should have split one with my sister.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyLiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Al's IS WHERE YOU SHOULD EAT!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stay at the Custom House across the street and AL's is all you need. The place is fast and friendly. If we are in Boston for the week, we count on stopping at Al's 2 times. Once during the week and then on our way out of town to bring a sub home in the cooler. Next time, I'll ask to have the sub wrapped like 2 short subs instead of 1 long sub. Those 16" ones don't quite fit :) Also, love that there is a location near our hotel and one out in Harvard square, so if you are out and about, Al's is close by!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheM's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's State Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Al's State Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing