We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al's the biggest and best sub sandwiches in Boston, and best prices.”

Al's State Street Cafe
Ranked #210 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Boston Ma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Al's the biggest and best sub sandwiches in Boston, and best prices.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Large sanwich will feed 2 with no problem, the small with soda and chipes at 7 dollars is a GREAT DEAL.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    23
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great value for a great sandwich.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Sandwich was very good but get yours to go . . . the place is kind of nasty. Don't expect much as far as service but the food beats going to Subway every day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moneyman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great subs, wraps, and salads!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

You can't go wrong here! It is a great stop after a morning of sightseeing. Take your order and grab a sit on a bench in Quincy Market and people watch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJMSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So incredibly yummy!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was by far my favorite meal of our trip. Not only did we feel welcomed by the local Bostoners, but we enjoyed the fast-paced Boston experience. They have tons of sandwiches to choose from. We both opted from the hot menu. Mine was seasoned steak with peppers and cheese. Their regular size is huge, and I enjoyed every bite of it. Very affordable and so good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best sandwich I have ever eaten!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got 2 'small' subs for a late lunch at 2, which took us over 2 hrs to eat in stops and starts! Were still full up later until after the Celtic's match. Soft delicious huge roll, and loads of amazing filling. My husband got the steak pizziola, it was sooo tasty, hot and filling. My 'chicken cafe' had huge chunks of perfectly grilled tender chicken, massive slabs of Portobello mushroom and juicy plum tomatoes smothered in provolone. Service was very quick, price was very very reasonable ($7.50 including drink and crisps) and our sandwiches looked and smelled so good that passersby asked where we got them from and headed down! I will never be able to abide Subway's plastic imitation anymore!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stephylizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's State Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Al's State Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing