We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Craving Turkish food - disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sultan's Kitchen

Sultan's Kitchen
Ranked #810 of 3,188 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Craving Turkish food - disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I lived in Turkey and appreciate good Turkish food. I had the Iskender Kabob however, I couldn't find the pita bread because of all the rice. The place was very busy, so some of the other dishes must have been good. I would like to try this restaurant again and see if other dishes are better. The Konak in Philadelphia has excellent Iskender Kabob and I guess I expected more of this kind of experience and alot less rice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank alwaysmovingon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, sullen waitstaff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Sultan's Kitchen is a great place to grab some lunch to go, and walk the short distance to the Greenway and enjoy nice weather. Dining in is possible, but the tables are small, the space is cramped, and you can't help but participate in your neighbor's conversations even if you have no desire to do so. Egg lemon soup was the best I have ever had. The kebabs are excellent, as are the artichoke fritters. Also excellent white beans, lentil salad and other salads. The food is uniformly excellent.

As for the staff - really your interaction is minimal. Just make sure you know what you want before you get to the window - order, pay and flee. No reason to dally. None at all

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wineknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very authentic Turkish in Boston financial dist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Not much more than a hole in the wall, but the variety and aithenticity and sheer deliciousness of this longtime establishment is impressive. An enormous menu with virtually everything made fresh on the premises. A great place for lunch or a casual dinner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MahrtianWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

From the first bite the only sounds to be heard were the pleasant grunts of a happy man eating a gigantic falafel. The baklava and burma were out of this world.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank rulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most authentic & delicious Turkish food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stumbled upon this restaurant the other day and ordered the yogurtlu kebab, my favorite dish from when I took a trip to Turkey over 13 years ago. This was the most authentic and delicious Turkish food I've had since that trip! It was amazingly good, and very reasonably priced. My friend had the donner kebab and we shared them and both were absolutely delicious, and more food than we could finish. Their flat bread was also outstanding. I can't wait to go back and try their other dishes!!!! It's a very casual restaurant, you order at the counter and go wait for your food, which comes in styrofoam takeout containers. But wow, what great food!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socal2ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sultan's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing