We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stop for a drink”
Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Living Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #717 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Richmond St.
Transit: Orange Line: Haymarket Station Green Line: Government Center Blue Line: Aquarium Station.
Description: German Chef Frank Schattauer offers an awesome selection of American and Global comfort food with emphasis on regional seafood. Brunch is served from 11:00 AM to 3 PM Saturday, Sunday and Monday. Dinner service begins at 4 PM daily
South of Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing stop for a drink”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a fun little spot that we discovered during a recent 'Martini Crawl' before a meal in the North End. We didn't try the food, but the martini menu was extensive. As might be contrued by the name of the place, the Living Room has an extensive bar area, including several living room chairs. We tried the "Strawberry Shortcake" and the "Key Lime", and both were good.

We had no opportunity to sample the food, but there is a dining room in the rear...maybe next time. .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfs0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food - Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Make sure you have reservations!
This place is great for friends going out for drinks or for dinner.

Our server was a little ditzy, but she didn't mess anything up so that was good.
Drinks were pricey - but nothing less to expect from a trendy bar in a major city.

I highly recommend getting the buffalo chicken dumplings - delicious!!!!
I was so full from them when my meal came I wasn't that hungry, but managed to get it down.
They had a great drink/wine list - so many different drinks to chose from.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish11679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool place for young adults”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The place is nice and they play good music. Just don't use coat-check because the staff is very irresponsible. My friend left her new coat at the coat check and they lost it. We went back the next day and they were very rude and did not seem to care about the fact that they just cost her $150.00.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank izabela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dont bother with this place as a nightlife venue”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Your not missing out, I do not suggest you go to this place.

Came here on a Saturday night for some cocktails with 2 friends. The room looked cozy but there were no seats available to sit at.

DJ was VERY disappointing, he abruptly transitioned from old school hip hop to songs like bon jovi then to reggae. It was not a smooth transition at all and cleared the floor as people were confused at what they were listening to.

If there were seats to sit at I would have stayed a bit longer but after one cocktail each my friends and I decided to leave.

We went to coat check to pick up my jacket and it was lost. The one task required of them, they could not do! Very unprofessional to say the least. I was taken in the back to see if my jacket was there and I saw glasses of beer and drinks on the shelf above where the jackets were hanging- no wonder they lost my jacket! No compensation was offered.

Definitely a no-go! Besides the cozy feeling, theres nothing else special about this place. I did not try the food so I cannot comment on that but the drinks were just average.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bar Scene was a good time..”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have had food at this place before but I will now overlook that since being there on a Saturday night. Went there with a group of us for a friends birthday and had a great time, good atmosphere with a nice mix of people and music.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing