We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner but nothing special”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 3,227 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Atlantic Ave.
Transit: Aquarium Station (Blueline)
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods - really fresh fish. Enjoy ocean-side dining just steps from the New England Aquarium. Our restaurant couldn't be more convenient to the Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and waterfront hotels. We think a visit to Boston must include a meal at Legal Sea Foods. Legal Sea Foods has long proven that a consistent, high quality dining experience never goes out of style. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there's no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker. We've received a boatload of accolades including "Most Popular Boston Restaurant" (Zagat, 2011/2012), "Best Seafood Restaurant" (Improper Bostonian, 2010), "Best Chowder" (Boston Magazine, 2010), "Best Seafood Restaurant" (Boston Phoenix, 2009) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice dinner but nothing special”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When visiting different cities, my husband and I like to choose one nice dinner that we know will cost a little extra. On this trip, we decided to try out Legal Sea Foods because of the reviews and the location. While the location was nice and the food was good, I didn't really think it was the special dinner we were hoping to have. The food was good, albeit pricey, but I felt like I could have had similar meals at any restaurant in my hometown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lsiuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,595
    1,245
    528
    166
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Loved the Oysters, the Chowder and the Seafood Stew. Not a huge fan of the Crab Cake (too fishy) but otherwise would definitely recommend this. Just not if you're looking for a quiet and romantic celebration. It's a large restaurant and very loud and crowded. Don't get me wrong - we could easily have a private conversation. It's just very busy. Service was also fantastic and the location was across the street from our hotel so commute couldn't be better.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank auntcy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average food, service questionable”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

On a recent trip to Boston, my partner and I ate on a Saturday night at the bar. To start, the red wine was too warm. We had to drop ice cubes in to get it to the proper temperature. Food, he had surf and turf, I had the chef's three kinds of fish, scallops and shrimp. The steak and scallops were perfectly done. The fish, overdone and dry. So food, great to average. But the really affective experience of the night were the bartenders. Four youngish to mid thirties men tending bar, talking loud, cracking jokes that were not funny, making fun of eachother, and generally obnoxious. It was actually stressful having them there as you couldn't enjoy your dinner. One of the four was more quiet, stocking the bar and wasn't like his colleagues. This experience darkened the overall experience at this restaurant and I would not go back or near that place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank well_travelled008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Waterfront views while eating.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My daughter is not a big seafood fan, but wanted to have a food adventure outside of her comfort zone while we were visiting Boston. With that in mind we decided that Legal Sea Foods on the water front would be the perfect place for her to get started. She tried the crab cake with salad and baked potato from the lunch menu. I had the seafood bake and baked potato along with a cup of lobster bisque. We got to sit at a table in the front window so we could see the water while we ate. It was the perfect experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Insuregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

After a whale watching cruise, we felt very hungry. The place has a round the clock efficient service and so we were quickly presented with the best lobster roll ever: plenty of lobster in a warm a tasty bun, with excellent fries and a nice Chardonnay. One of us tasted the chorizo and mussels, and was not disappointed either. Nice place with a good view on the harbour ant the aquarium.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing