We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother....”
Review of blu

blu
Reserve with OpenTable
blu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #493 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Tremont & Washington
Transit: T: Green line to Boylston Street; Orange line to Chinatown; Red line to Park Street
boston, ma
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Don't bother....”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Mediocre food, inflated prices, pretentious staff, including a waiter who add drinks that you did not order or consume to your check, and then, when you point out the error before paying (on more than one occasion), instead of apologizing, when you ask him to remove the mistake from the check, he pauses, thinks about it, and then tells you, "okay, i can do that", as if HE is doing YOU a favor!!! Who needs that kind of service??? It's not as if the food is fantastic- which might make up for the lack of courteous or professional service. Sometimes the food can be good, but most of the time it's mediocre- and the taste of the actual meal never lives up to how good it sounds according to its written description on the menu. Meat is often overcooked despite how it was ordered, and poultry and fish are, in reality, much more bland than they sounded when you heard them described as the special of the day. Furthermore, the receptionist on the ground floor has a bad attitude, too- not welcoming in the least. In a city like Boston with its many nice neighborhoods and friendly suburbs that are just overloaded with excellent eating spots, there is no reason at all to waste money on this place. BLU does not deserve it....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelCutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Strange setting for a very nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Arriving at Blu is an odd experience - you step off the elevator into a sports club, complete with sweaty, albeit wealthy patrons. Then you walk through a very informal tv lounge/cafe populated by people in shorts and t-shirts. When you finally get to Blu, it's like a different world - beautiful, elegant space overhanging an urban street scene with lots of glass and moody lighting. I believe this was originally conceived as a very upscale health food restaurant, but the menu doesn't particularly reflect that concept. We sat in a booth in the smallish bar area since the main dining area was closed for an event. It was a quiet week night, so this was not a problem and the view was probably better than in the dining room. The food is very good. We had the scallop appetizer, lamb chops and duck breast. Everything was very tasty, although the duck was way past the requested medium rare. The servers were very friendly and efficient. All in all, a very nice meal in a beautiful space, at least after you got past the locker room.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Evening at Blu”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed Blu. We shared the scallops appetizer which came with two extra large scallops. I would say the appetizer was slightly on the small side but was still delicious. My husband had strip steak and I had the lamp chops. They were cooked perfectly. Mine was served over zucchini pancakes. For dessert we shared a tiramisu which was probably the worst (if you can say that) part of the meal. It was just a typical tiramisu - nothing bad at all - just typical.

The restaurant is in an odd location. You basically have to enter through a sports club. But the ambience is quite nice with soaring industrial ceilings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jannibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“flavorless”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

great space, great view....the food looked great on the menu and on the plate...but of the five plates we received all lacked much flavor. the server was more interested in her conversation than serving.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, but . . .”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room is great - intimate and inviting with a nice view of the lights of Boston's resurgent theater district - and the food is excellent and imaginatively presented - my wife and I both had seafood (trout and halibut respectively) and blu's presentation lived up to Boston's reputation as a great seafood town. But here's the thing: blu is in a sports club. You step off the elevator and you get a distinct whiff of locker room. And stepping back on, you're likely to be joined, as we were, by three or four club patrons who are literally dripping sweat - they must be folks who like to shower at home. Takes a little of the shine off what could be a terrific spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank efbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing