We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get something requiring a recipe”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Barking Crab

Barking Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Barking Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,186 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Transit: Red Line (South Station) Silver Line (Courthouse Station) Blue Line (Aquarium Station) Green Line (Government Center Station) Orange Line (Downtown Crossing Station)
Description: Barking Crab is a landmark Boston seafood restaurant celebrating our fifteenth season. Located on the Fort Point Channel in Boston's Seaport District, The Barking Crab features fresh crabs, lobsters, and day-boat fish brought in each morning. We feature traditional New England fare served in a funky urban clam-shack setting. We have a full bar including over 15 regional micro brews, cocktails, and an approachable value-priced wine list. We are family friendly and a short 2 minute walk from the Boston Children's Museum. Other area attractions include the Institute of Contemporary Art, Harpoon Brewery, the Harbor-walk, Boston Convention and Exhibition Center, and Boston's Financial District.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“get something requiring a recipe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the steamed lobster and crab. I've had WAY better. The "stuffie" starter was delicious. Service was forgetful. The Maître d' Johanna was delightfully friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lfredregill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    715
    321
    148
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun spot with a view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were staying over by the aquarium and decided to go for a walk on the river walk. We crossed the bridge and came across the barking crab. Since it was a Sunday and only the two of us we were able to get a seat without waiting. We weren't happy with the the table so we moved to the bar instead. We had the full bellies clams for an app and I had the naked lobster roll and he had the king crab legs. Best legs I've ever eaten. Certainly was a pricey meal but worth every penny. The bartender, jay made the best Bloody Mary too! Over all great find for us and would recommend to anyone!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fireant629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parishville, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located directly on the water, The Barking Crab has everything a diner could want in a Boston/New England experience. We were seated at a table next to the window which allowed an excellent view of the Financial District of Boston. As an appetizer, we ordered Oysters Rockefeller and clams.....Best Oysters Rockefeller EVER....for entree I had a naked Lobster roll......again, BEST EVER....so yummy.....cant wait to go back.....why wouldn't I??? Cold beer, great atmosphere, yummy food!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarkfourfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great New England Style Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed the Barking Crab. Great crab cakes and the lobster roll was delicious. Would go back again next time we are in Boston.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mvairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood, Awesome View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I enjoyed the best crabcakes I have eaten, while at the Barking Crab in Boston. My entree was actually crabcake sliders. Three flavorful cakes on delicious buttery rolls with a subtle sauce. I am still thinking about those...We were fortunate to be seated at a table right by the water and the view was amazing. Didn't want to leave. Great service, with tourist walking tips and fun atmosphere! A must visit casual eatery by the Children's Museum in Boston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barking Crab also viewed

 

Been to Barking Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing