We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place you Gotta See”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barking Crab

Barking Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Barking Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,186 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Transit: Red Line (South Station) Silver Line (Courthouse Station) Blue Line (Aquarium Station) Green Line (Government Center Station) Orange Line (Downtown Crossing Station)
Description: Barking Crab is a landmark Boston seafood restaurant celebrating our fifteenth season. Located on the Fort Point Channel in Boston's Seaport District, The Barking Crab features fresh crabs, lobsters, and day-boat fish brought in each morning. We feature traditional New England fare served in a funky urban clam-shack setting. We have a full bar including over 15 regional micro brews, cocktails, and an approachable value-priced wine list. We are family friendly and a short 2 minute walk from the Boston Children's Museum. Other area attractions include the Institute of Contemporary Art, Harpoon Brewery, the Harbor-walk, Boston Convention and Exhibition Center, and Boston's Financial District.
Plymouth, Mi.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Place you Gotta See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's as authentic as it gets. Huge pots of crab legs and lobster. It's located right next to a small marina and right off the water. The crab cakes were wonderful. We weren't extremely hungry so some Clams Casino and some chowder was all it took. We came here on a recommendation from my son and daughter-in-law. We were not disappointed. You might want to park elsewhere and walk to the restaurant. There's cheaper parking within walking distance and you'll need the exercise when you're finished.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank realdiehl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    715
    321
    148
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Location & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the last stop on our trip in Boston and it was fun. The atmosphere is fun, but be prepared to sit at a table with other people. Our group of 4 was sat with another small group at a picnic table. We went for lunch, so we weren't in the mood to try out some of their bigger seafood platters, but I would definitely be willing to go back for dinner next time we travel to Boston. My husband and I had the firecracker shrimpt for an appetizer. Even though we like spicy food a lot, I thought it was too hot. They didn't really clean out many seeds, which made it almost impossible to eat. We also split the clam chowder and lobster roll. The lobster roll was cooked really well and would have been one of our favorites if the roll had been buttered and toasted. While we didn't have any dessert, the group next to us ordered the chocolate cake and it looked pretty amazing. Guessing by their comments, it also tasted amazing! The only drawback would be if you have someone in your group who doesn't enjoy seafood, the non-fish menu is extremely small (chicken sandwich, steak sandwich, & burger).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lsiuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We saw the Barking Crab from the hop on - hop off bus tour, and thought it sounded fun. We were not the least bit disappointed. The crab was probably the best I have ever had... fresh, sweet and lots of it. My husband ordered lobster, but ate half my crab and wished he'd ordered that too. Fun drinks, loud and busy, and great family atmosphere. Perfect place for a date night with your hubby of 25 years - YES!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food and the Lobster Bisque in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great lunch here. The crab legs were great, meaty, and perfectly boiled. The Lobster bisque was one of the best I have had in years. Also recommend the Lobster BLT as it is delicious. Quick service and fun atmosphere

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colonelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
Level Contributor
629 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Awesome waterfront location with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a stop at the Boston Tea Party Museum we took a stroll and stopped at the barking crab for a few drinks and a snack. We loved sitting on the deck area, overlooking the water. They had nice local brews on tap. The food was delicious. Our group had the following, clam chowder, crab cakes, crab dip and the fried clams. Everything we tried was great. I wouldn't recommend going there if you are in a rush, waitstaff was decent but not super efficient. However we didn't mind since we were enjoying a nice sunny April day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barking Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing