We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sakurabana

Sakurabana
Ranked #779 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been a patron at this restaurant for over 15 years and eat there probably 40 times a year. I have never been disappointed. Food is outstanding. Very crowded at lunch - you have to get there early, but much more relaxed for dinner. Best things on the menu in my opinion are spicy scallop maki, shrimp fantasia maki, spicy green maki.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Decent sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I discovered this one by accident on a street corner. Bustling at lunchtime, that's what its made for: a quick, healthy, tasty japanese with little pretence that absolutely delivers the goods. What more can you ask for? Service is friendly, prices are keen. A good, simple choice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and sashimi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I frequently work in Boston and found this hidden gem for dinner. Will definitely be going back because it was some of the best simple Japanese food I have tasted outside Japan at a good price. Highly recommended for a low key, fresh, simple meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank staffs_oatcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great real Japanese food restaurant, with excellent sushi and sashimi dishes, particularly their very reasonably priced lunch specials which are (as the 4.8.13 date of our lunch) in the $10-$12 range (one deluxe sushi special for $14.50). Popular restaurant which is often crowded later in the week, particularly at night. We went for a later Monday lunch, and even then it was 2/3 full. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles02110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“had a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I spent the night in boston because we had an early flight out of Logan Airport. We went for a walk lookinf for a restaurant and found Sakura-Bana and we decided to try it. I started with a california roll which was very well prepared I then had their lunch box with beef and sushi. The sushi was very fresh and the beef I found to be very flavorful and tender. The only problem I had is they gave me more food than I could eat. I would definitely go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakurabana also viewed

 

Been to Sakurabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing