We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and great value”

New Shanghai Restaurant
Ranked #1,023 of 3,186 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Went here because other better recommended places were full but so glad we did as it was brilliant! Delicious food and varied menu. Good service too.

Helpful?
1 Thank rosalieb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Chinatown Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hadn't been to the restaurant in many years as the restaurant had been sold. We tried it recently and the food was fabulous. Fresh seafood and vegetables. All of the dishes were excellent and we ordered a lot. Loved the spinach dumplings and the pan fried noodles with chicken and vegetables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you want an alternative to Taiwan Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Nice place - western style cleanliness. Staff a little slow but not unbearably so. Menu was understandable. We did not get very adventurous with the protein choices - but this is the place to do it if you are so inclined. We had spring rolls - nicely done. Sliced pork with minced garlic and chili sauce was delicious - although I was surprised it was served cold on a bed of shredded lettuce. Chinese Broccoli and Oyster Sauce was perfect. House Lo Mein was OK - tasted really good when we added the minced garlic and chili sauce from the pork.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewportFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Eclectic but pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The subtitle under the New Shanghai's name is "Peking-Szechwan Cuisine." In other words, this place claims to serve 3 of the 4 major types of Chinese cuisine-- eastern, northern, western-- everything except southern. Since the restaurant is in Chinatown, I guess it is trying to be different from most of the other restaurants here, which mainly serve Cantonese food. As the name suggests, the menu is really eclectic. Normally, this would ring alarm bells, but so far every item we've tried (from spicy Sichuanese noodles to tamer offerings from Beijing and Shanghai) has been pretty solid, at very reasonable prices. I should add that we've only had take-out, and so we can't comment on the table service (although the staff members are always friendly).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GracefulUnderFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Pleasantly surprised that the food was so tasty and fresh, I never expect to get decent Chinese food anywhere but home in NYC. Really enjoyed our meal, however was dismayed to find out that we were charged an additional $3 per plate for rice, which in my experience has always been served with meals at no extra charge. I didn't recall seeing this charge on the menu, perhaps it was there, but the waiter did not mention there was a charge for the rice either. Just a little hiccup in what otherwise would have been a very enjoyable meal.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye7144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing