We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of King Fung Garden - CLOSED

King Fung Garden
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
boston, ma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This isn't what it used to be. They changed owners and this restaurant no longer serves authentic Chinese food. Everything that used to be on the menu is gone. The lamb soup doesn't exist. Dan Dan noodles is completely different, it tastes horrible. The beef wide noodles is covered in greasd. Everything was soaked in oil.

The menu looked like something that you'd see at an American Chinese restaurant. They are not catering to Chinese people. Don't bother going of you are looking for something authentic. Even if you are looking for you average American Chinese food, it's really greasy. Such a shame they let this restaurant go, it was such a hidden jem in Chinatown for years. Now its better suited for the south station bus terminal food court. What a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appleontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, hole in the wall place and prices”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great food, tiny tiny place. Reasonable prices and nice people working there. It is real authentic Chinese food, not Polynesian influenced food court food. Well worth finding for real Chinese food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pansysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
131 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“New King Fung Garden”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

That is the full correct name of restaurant. Yes, it is tiny with no ambiance, but the food is great.
Maybe they can seat 20-25 max. This place looks like more of a takeout restaurant. I had to be in Chinatown yesterday so I intentionally sought out this little gem. I only had soup, wonton noodle with extra vegetables. It was such a Huge portion that I was too full to eat anything else. The soup was very tasty, the noodles and won tons were cooked to perfection, not hard, not mushy.
I scoped out the dishes being eaten by the help and WOW the help eats well; lobster, rice veggies, the aroma was inviting and mouth-watering. I will stop here every time I go to Boston. I was also served green tea that was so good, I did not need sweetener.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redhatchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Hole in the wall with great food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is tiny, but has been highest quality for years. Everything's always hot and freshly cooked, though you may have to wait a little bit for the small kitchen. The rice cakes and scallion pie are my favorites.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chengesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
227 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Sadly, no longer its glorious self”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We used to commute from the suburbs for glorious meals at King Fung knowing we were eating where Boston chef gathered after work. Those days are done. The New King Fung Garden is terrible. The calamari is now just breaded hunks of something or other, no more whole fried squid. Everything was heavy and greasy, drowned in chili sauce. Worse yet was the service. On sunday afternoon the waiter had commandeered a table for himself outside the kitchen where he set up his laptop and stayed glued to it. Handing over the food with a few grunts, before returning his attention to his beloved internet. This is a far cry from the previous owners who made each trip a joyous visit to friends in the city. We have pictures of their young son sitting at our table and entertaining us with his quick wit. As an additional memento of our last visit to King Fung, all four of us have had been running back and forth to the bathroom since our visit. So sad to see this old friend gutted by people who just bought the name and do not love food. Or even like their customers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Fung Garden also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing