We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Not cheap by any means, but a great location, and a very nice room. The bedroom was a bit small, which was odd given that the bathroom was quite large. On the 7th floor, we were still able to hear the occasional party-goer in the alley, but it was not really a problem because the alley was mostly silent. No noise from within the hotel.

The location was very central, with parking, dining, entertainment, shopping, and transport nearby. Most of the places we wanted to go were within walking distance.

The valet parking is very expensive, so we opted to park in the Back Bay Garage a block away, which on weekends is $22 for 24 hours--very reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidney13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The Loews Boston is a beautiful property in the old police headquarters. The hotel is up to Loews standards and quality. I would definitely recommend it and go back. The rooms are brand new and very clean. The hotel is located near Copley Square and central to everything.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank bush242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

In a historic building that was once a police station near Copley Square and the Back Bay T station, Loews has transformed the locale into a comfortable contemporary yet unpretentious hotel. The Precinct bar/restaurant pays homage to the building's former life, but with friendly bartenders. Doormen equally helpful and efficient. The beds are dreamy soft. No tub, but the shower featured sprays from overhead and at torso. It took us a bit to figure out the light switches so as to illuminate the bath without the bright hall light which would awaken sleepers, so you may want to check that out before you go to bed. A wonderful self serve barista machine in the lobby with 6 or 8 options.

Room Tip: Ours - 309 - was at the end of the hall - very quiet, no view, but with an extra door in the hall th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We are 60-year-old self-funded retirees with lots of pleasure and business travel experience in many parts of the world. We have high, but not unreasonable expectation of hotels and, more importantly, we always try to match our expectations with what we believe we purchased. Our most important criteria for selecting a hotel are cleanliness and location. For this hotel, we booked a room with one queen size bed and got a larger room.

While the room was on the slightly smaller than average size, it was clean and very well furnished. I found the bed to be very comfortable. The room had an average size bath and the shower pressure and temperature was very good. The added attraction was a heated towel rack, and while it might not be important to all, this was great for us as we do a little "basin washing" and it helped with the drying.

The hotel has a very well appointed common room with self-service coffee, a huge high-definition TV system and a large long reading desk that looked like it came out of a library. I noticed number business travellers using this facility to plough through their email backlog rather than staying cooped up in their rooms. The restrooms in the common areas had actual toweling to dry your hands, rather than the standard paper towels or blow dryers. I found this a nice touch.

The dining room had a very good menu, was competitively priced for a hotel this close to the centre of town and the service was very good. There's a nice bar with a great gas fire place that was just right when I needed a spot to finish the last of my wine left over from dinner. The Hotel's Wi-Fi network was very good and fast. The staff were fantastic, especially the Concierge, who was very helpful. The service in the bar and restaurant was very good.

I found this to be an excellent very modern hotel that is walking distance from all the main Boston Freedom Trail sites. My wife and I are in good health, so walking isn't a problem to us. The nearest train station is only a 10-minute walk from the hotel. The restaurants in Little Italy are a short cab ride away.

Overall, this is a very good hotel in a good position. We found all staff to be very good and the general service was high quality. It has lots of business travellers staying when we were there. In my opinion this is an excellent hotel that gives excellent value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 694PhilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Needless to say this hotel has some pluses (location, newly renovated lobby and bar/restaurant, kind staff...) but I must point out several things that made me feel not as comfortable as expected...
Super noisy rooms!! You can hear everything happening outside your door: Air conditioning, people talking, doors closing. You better take with you earplugs if you want to sleep...also the lights from the corridor under my room's door so...you better bring a mask if you have a problem with it.
Also I experienced wifi problems the first 2 days and had to solve the situation by myself with the IT staff by phone (¿?)...
I had neither minibar nor even a fridge in the room :(
It also was surprising the lack of security. Although there were a couple of people from the staff in the main entrance, you can go into the hotel and take the elevators without any problem. No control at all!
By the way, fitness room is like a matchbox.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and mask with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enrique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We travel to Boston every year for the Marathon and have stayed at a number of places - all completely acceptable, but none at the level of Loews. We stayed here before when it was called Jury's Back Bay, but the fabulous staff combined with a complete renovation of rooms really helped to elevate the experience this year. Great location - you're within walking distance of two T stops (Arlington and Copley), and Newbury and Boylston Streets are just blocks away. The front desk was always accommodating, as were the doormen and housekeeping. Directions? They've got them for you. Restaurant recommendation? They'll tell you what's good and what's not. Need more shampoo? It's yours for the asking. They've taken customer service to the next level. I would definitely recommend staying here when you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Boston for a wedding this past week and stayed at Loews. The accommodations were excellent; both modern and comfortable. The many little amenities really made it great, not to mention the premier location in the Back Bay. The staff went above and beyond exceptional. The outdoor ceremony being rained out they arranged for it to take place in the Presidential Suite. When we were personally escorted up to the penthouse they had chilled champagne, flower arrangement, and a wonderful desert (as the wedding cake). Not only that, the entire staff had signed a congratulations card. They did all this in about 45 minutes. Impressive to say the least. We will be returning any time we visit Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,425 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $172 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing