We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

On arrival from New York last year, we were given an upgrade to our room as it was not ready so for a small fee we got a massive suite with a massive bed and brilliant facilities.

Service was brilliant from breakfast, concierge and bar all well worth a second visit. Location of hotel was good and close to metro, shopping areas.

Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Our room did not overlook street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Uses best practise in terms of minimising waste.uses all possible methods to reduce waste and energy conservation.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Andy K,

Thank you very much for your post! If you loved us in September, prior to our renovation, you will really love us know having completed a $12 million renovation including guest rooms, lobby, bar and restaurant! We hope to welcome you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    449
    104
    26
    12
See reviews for
401
604
49
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just got home from a wonderful weekend in Boston made even better by our stay at Loews. This was our first stay and we will definitely be back. We always stay at the same boutique hotel in Copley Square, but, since it was Marathon weekend, our usual place was booked. We stayed in a room with a king bed and our kids were in a room with 2 queens. Both were spacious and very comfortable. The beds, bedding and pillows were very comfortable and we all got good nights' sleep. There is a nice bar/restaurant in the lower level with a nice outdoor area with couches and big comfy chairs. We ordered a few appetizers and drinks, and everything was good and the waitresses and bartenders were on the ball. The hotel staff was also helpful and professional. The only thing I like better at our former boutique hotel was the Lindt chocolates on our pillows.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Cathy l,

Thank you for the great review of your experience…what a treat to read and I am thrilled that we have earned your loyalty! Our patio space outside the bar and restaurant is very special and following our renovation, the increased and much more comfortable seating is a great addition! Most importantly, I am very happy to hear that our service delivery met and perhaps even exceeded your expectations. And when you come back, I promise to have chocolates on your pillow if you email me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com. Consider it done! I look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here last week for 5 nights with two kids
Hotel has just been revamped and they've done a great job
Rooms are really relaxing- stayed on 8th floor in two double bed room
Decided to have breakfast at restaurant there every day after great experience there on first day
Lobby lounge area has slightly odd name but is really relaxing and the free coffee machine there makes it easy to grab a take out coffee
Location is great for accessing sights- we walked everywhere during our stay after we had done the trolley bus excursion!
However what makes hotel really great is the staff- they were without fail friendly and helpful.If all hotels had such great staff staying away would be so much better.

Room Tip: I don't think second floor has been renovated so go for level above that
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happymotherCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
happymotherChesire,

We greatly appreciate the time you took to share you experience and I am so happy to read that we exceeded your expectations. We are ecstatic with the results of our renovation and feel as though our product is as good as anyone’s…from the ‘Apothecary’ (the area off the lobby where we offer the complimentary coffee, tea, Espresso, Cappuccino, Latte…) to Precinct Kitchen + Bar to our guest rooms, we couldn’t be happier with the result.

However, while we have worked tremendously hard on improving the product, we have worked even harder on improving the guest experience. We recognize the renovation may attract you the first time, but it is our service delivery that will earn your loyalty and I am so pleased to read we have done so!

Thank you very much for recognizing our efforts and I will be sure to share your comments with my team. Please let me know if I may assist in the future, I can be reached at john.maibach@loewshotels.com, and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Located in the former police station building, the hotel is situated at the heart of the city. Many restaurants and malls including the sumptuous Apple Store are just a stone throw away.

The origin of the building explains the weird configuration with an unusual minimal lobby one level upper than the street.

The rooms are quite spacious and the mattress comfortable. Free wifi is provided.

What concerned me much during my stay are different problems that are hardly acceptable for that kind of hotels class.

First, the room was VERY noisy because of the traffic and the works all around. It seems that the windows isolation is insufficient. I had to sleep with ear plugs!

Then, the corridor's light slide under my room door, illuminating my room and leading me to wear a mask.

The breakfast is basic, expensive and the waiters are not particularly agreeable.

Last but not least, parking is a block away and will cost you a fortune.

There are much better choices than the Loews in Boston especially in that price range!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank THIERRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear THIERRY C,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the challenges we had in accommodating you during your visit. I am very disappointed we were not able to satisfy what are very simple expectations. While disappointing to read, your feedback is invaluable for us as we strive to be the Boutique hotel of choice in the Back Bay. I will be sure to share your experience with my team so they understand how we can improve our delivery. As I do not have your contact information, feel free to email me directly at john.maibach@loewshotels.com so I may apologies to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the Loews just for one night, getting rid of my jet lag and before some intense business meetings.
Great location and great staff. Enjoyed the quality of the bed. Room was nice an spacious. Bathroom clean.

Room Tip: Higher up seems to be less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAECH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear KAECH,

Thank you very much for the short and sweet review, much like your one night stay! Having 31 hotel reviews, you are certainly well traveled and we appreciate the 5 Star review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our family recently stayed for 3 nights at the Loews Boston finishing up a family trip to New England area for a 70th and 90th birthday celebration. The recent renovations were outstanding, but more importantly was the amazing, courteous service the staff provided to my entire family. The restaurant actually reopened the day we checked in and the food and service were both incredible. My two boys, Age 11 & 9, told us that when we went back to see their cousins, that they wanted to stay at Loews.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited here for three nights as a birthday present for my son.
From start to finish I couldn't fault the hotel and staff.
All staff were so friendly and helpful the location was perfect.
The room was spacious and clean just what I ordered. Will use again if I visit Boston.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kesbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,986 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing