We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Boston”
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Boston”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Loews Boston Hotel is in the former police headquarters in Back Bay. It's in a quieter location at night, which we preferred but still so close to everything - 2 minute walk to Boston Common. The room was superb and comfortable, and the staff were attentive. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    448
    104
    26
    12
See reviews for
401
603
49
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Planned a trip to Boston for my wife's birthday and this hotel came highly recommended from a cousin. Was looking for a 5 star property in the Back Bay where we could walk to Fenway, shopping, dining and sightseeing. We like unique hotels and the Loews building was previously home of the Boston Police Headquarters. Gorgeous renovation. The staff knew I was taking the family to Fenway for the first time and celebrating my wife's birthday. They sent wine to the room for her birthday plus homemade cookies and milk for our children and a card wishing us the best at the game. The room was beautiful, the staff was very friendly and professional and we had a GREAT stay. Asked my kids on Sunday to rate the weekend on a scale of 1-10 with 1 being boring and 10 being magical. They said it was a 30! Great hotel. Will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We travel to Boston regularly to visit our daughter. We rarely stay in the same place, always looking for the bargain dujour. The Loews Boston Hotel is a wonderful, understated hotel. Clean, neat, orderly, well-staffed. It is a perfect location for access to Back Bay shopping, the T and downtown Boston. Walk everywhere. A boutique experience. Would gladly return if the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here in September for nearly 2 weeks! We booked this hotel for several reasons. A few of them being the location and the history of the building.

The hotel is very clean and elegant. The staff at reception were excellent. From experience, I've found hotel staff can either provide only 50% of the service they should do, or they're doing it just because their job role requires it. Which is fine, but the staff at this hotel were very genuine and nothing was ever too much trouble.

Our room was very comfortable and generously sized. Housekeeping were excellent and very friendly. I felt relieved we had found this hotel.

There are plenty of surrounding places to eat, but we loved Cuffs so much we pretty much spent most of our evenings in there, working our way through the menu. The food is fantastic to say the very least! The Angus burger is the best I've tasted! The only thing I found, and this isn't necessarily a bad thing, is that the portions of some of the starters are huge. We ordered the Loaded Nachos and believe me, between 2 people who can really put food away, this could've been a main course. But they were indeed amazing nachos. The Cuffs' staff were great! You never had a chance to get to the bar as they'd notice your glass was nearly empty and promptly come and offer another!

The breakfast staff in The Stanhope Grille were very friendly and attentive! The food here was also extremely good and very nicely presented.

The location is superb! Only 5 minutes from the T (Back Bay Station) and 5 minutes away from Newbury Street and Boylston. We found everything was easily reachable.

The only negative I'd have to add, is that it can be noisy at night with the traffic outside. This is by no means the fault of the hotel. We asked for a central hotel, and we got the perfect one. You would have to expect noise being so ideally located to everything. We love this place so much this little downside is absolutely worth it!

We planned to do a new state every year but Boston is so beautiful and this hotel so fantastic, that we're trying to find excuses not to re-visit next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a great hotel which is perfectly placed for sightseeing. The staff are incredibly friendly and after finding out it was our honeymoon, arranged an upgrade to the room and then sent up Prosecco, Truffles and fresh Strawberries, all topped off with a congratulations card signed by the staff.

The room was spacious and the bed very comfy - perfect for tired feet after walking the freedom trail. Very clean.

We did not eat at the hotel for breakfast as we preferred to eat out but we did grab a snack on a couple of evenings from the bar - all very tasty although pricey as expected for a hotel bar. My husband also particularly liked the complimentary fresh juices available in the lounge - especially the iced tea!

The bonus is that this hotel offers free WIFI access for all guests for up to 2 devices - this is far better that many of the larger more corporate hotel chains. Highly recommended hotel and the staff are an abolsulte credit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becca240280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

great room, great staff (other than the breakfast room) and a great city. Good location to wander around from so take some comfy shoes.
Lovely city as well (better than NYC in our view) and wish we had spent more time in boston and less in new york

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ettington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent location on a street that is not too busy but just a short walk away from Boylston St, Newbury St and trams. Excellent base for a business or pleasure visit to Boston. Helpful and efficient staff. Rooms are very nice and it's due to be closed & refurbished later this year. The bar and foyer are relatively small so it might not be the best location if you intend to spend a lot of time hanging around the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Admiral_Chump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,982 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing