We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, comfortable bed, and true customer appreciation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, comfortable bed, and true customer appreciation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my first experience at a Loews hotel. I was extremely impressed. Most hotel staff make you feel your burdening them to do their job... Not the Loews Boston Hotel. Employees... Awesome! Respectable, courteous, and willing to assist. I felt welcomed.

It all began with the reservation, with all on my concerns and hesitations, Ms. ShaRea was patient, understanding and reassuring. After a uncomfortable 8 hour ride on the bus, I was relieved the room was available early, and I checked in without complication; which would not been possible with Ms. ShaRea's professionalism and committed to her job. Ms. ShaRea demonstrated true customer service and appreciation, which is so lacking in this society. Due to this positive experience, I would stay at The Loews Hotel again.

The room... Clean! The bathroom... Beautiful! Amazingly... the bed was comfortable and I slept, (true statement from someone who suffer from insomnia).

I recommend your next stay at The Loews Boston Hotel... "Just can't put a price on true customer appreciation.".
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    361
    86
    21
    8
See reviews for
295
460
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Superb hotel in the historical heart of Boston ideal for the parks, river, museums and of course the Cheers Bar! which we visited twice for food and Red Brick Beer!

We took a ride on one of the ducks from the museum of science one afternoon which we had seen driving around the roads of Boston while we were there, I did not realise they were actually working amphibious vehicles that worked until we hit the river down some dodgy alleyway which was an unfinished skate and bike park.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed three nights in September 2013.
Check-in was very quick and efficient. I arrived in Boston on an early flight, was REALLY happy to get a room before 9am. Very pleasant surprise.

Room was ok, quite specious and clean, but decor is dated.
Bathroom is large, but very basic. Bed was comfortable.

Service was really good. On the last day I asked to push check-out time in two hours, and there was absolutely no problem.

Location is great. Very close to Boylstone and Newberry streets.

Overall, very nice stay. I might return, for a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First time in this hotel, had a nice well coming from the valet service to the room cleaners. Rooms are not big, but has the enough space not to be uncomfortable. Bathroom good and new.
Internet service needs an improvement in speed and 2 devices per room is not enough once today we travel with at least 2 devices per person.
On a rainy day hotel supplied good umbrellas which made our lives easier.
Parking charges are high in my point of view ($46 per night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familiampm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I love to travel, but as a light sleeper dread unknown Hotel rooms. We arrived at 8:30 am from a CA red eye to a very friendly staff (doorman, check-in clerk, concierge.) They stored our bags and had a room within the hour for Us. It is a lovely Hotel in a very nice neighborhood. The bed was amazingly comfortable with the softest most wonderful linens and down pillows. It was very quiet and I slept great. The Keurig coffee maker was just like home, as was the real cream ( not the powder! )The bathroom had an oversized shower with dual heads, and a nice auto under- counter light feature. We only glanced at the menu and it seemed quite high for Breakfast, so we passed. Nice robes are in room as well.

Overall a very nice Hotel and we would definitely stay again. Our few minor complaints were a broken soap dish in the shower(but we are told a huge reno is upcoming in the spring, as Loews just acquired the property from Jury's) the overpriced Breakfast menu, and a slight lack of info from the concierge that would have saved us some money and frustration. And maybe it is a little pricey for pre reno??? ( tech features are old school)

Room Tip: If taking a cab from Logan, many cabbies do not know the Hotel as Loews yet, so tell them the former...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

All staff encountered were very helpful and friendly from doormen to check-in to maintenance. The room was very clean and bright during the day. The stereo there is a bit old with no iPod hookup and still has a tape player so bring a wall charger if you need it. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of sheets/comforters. Climate control panel is simple to use, just arrow up or down to desired temperature. My wife and I booked this for a good rate on Hotwire for our 1 year anniversary and the location was great, a short walk to our reservation at Top of the Hub in the Prudential building. We ordered a breakfast for the morning as well which was delicious. To order the staff leave a menu that can be checked off and left on your door knob before midnight, it'll be picked up during the night and ready for when you specify in the morning. There is valet parking and is a short walk from the Green Line.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diskothek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

visited late following exciting trip to New York. The hotel was lovely and staff helpful. The hotel is well situated in the city. I cannot comment on food as did not eat at the hotel. The staff more than helpful. Would stay here again if in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 6,060 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#7 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,038 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing