We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“One Night Stay at Loews Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“One Night Stay at Loews Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel. King room very comfortable and location perfect for my meeting about one block from the John Hancock Center. Great neighborhood with numerous restaurants and shops walking distance. I have stayed at other high-end hotels in the vicinity and the Loews a much better value at probably 50% of the average nightly rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    374
    88
    21
    8
See reviews for
315
475
39
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a night here in late June and the entire experience was excellent. The rate was significantly less than a number of other hotels in Boston that are of the same quality level. They let us check in early. Everybody at the front desk and the rest of the hotel staff were extremely nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was top notch; large, great shower. They let us leave our bags with the valet for a couple of hours after we checked out. Fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
350 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business. Location is really great, easy walk to Copley and public transportation. The hotel does a nice job waving down cabs The room I had was very comfortable and facing an inner wall, so dark, but quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom, however, was quite banged up in the room I stayed. Still, they do a nice job keeping it clean. Altogether a good choice in Boston, with a highly professional and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Loews Boston Hotel. The Hotel was recently purchased by Loews. The location is great, near Copley Square, but DO NOT use the Wifi. The hotel uses "Super Click". This means that everything you do will potentially be tracked. They don't warn you at all. If you aren't aware of this, you could potentially be giving them personal details without any warning or disclaimer. If you want the geeky details, here's a link: http://m.slashdot.org/story/78344
Fortunately, I saw the browser redirection and quickly blocked it before compromising any privacy.

The room was really pretty good. It was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The desk chair tilt and height mechanism was broken making the chair completely unusable and a bit dangerous.
Suggested improvements would include additional accessible outlets for charging portable electronic devices and CPAP machines. I shouldn't have to unplug a light fixture to have access to an outlet. I'd happily swap the inconveniently located heated towel rack (over the toilet), for a couple convenient USB charging ports. The lack of a good powered ventilation fan in the bathroom seemed odd as well. Quibbles aside, the staff was friendly, helpful, and very attentive. For $300 a night, The overall experience was only OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear John B,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and your concerns. Loews purchased the hotel 6 months ago and we plan on refurbishing the majority of our guest room in January of next year. My apologies that we did not correct the broken desk chair prior to your arrival and I agree with your assessment of outlets and USB ports. Having just completed our model room in anticipation of our renovation, there will be 2 outlets on each side of the bed at eye height as well as 2 outlets at the desk plus at least one and perhaps a second USB port…so we will address this shortcoming very soon!

I do want to address the article you posted and your comments about Superclick. The article you posted is five years old. Loews did their due diligence prior to rolling Superclick out to all of our properties and was very well aware of this article and addressed it. Back in 2006 Superclick launched the Media Distribution System (MDS), an online content delivery market through MDS to hoteliers conference and event centers and an online advertising through brands/hotels landing page/banners.

However, the market didn’t respond favorably towards this new service and Superclick received significant push back from existing customers so in 2007 the MDS was decommissioned and completely removed from their product offerings. There is no reason to be concerned about using our wifi.

I hope this helps clarify any concerns. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in mid July in a Standard room. A very good location for Copley Sq, shopping, restaurants and Boston Common. Room 0451.

Pros: Efficient, polite staff at check in/ out, comfortable bed,large shower no bath, centrally located and within easy reach of attractions, large, clean room, and public areas, afternoon lemonade served in lounge area, good selection at breakfast, friendly quick valet parking service.

Cons: Restaurant was not open in the evening. I think snacks could be ordered at the bar area, but this area was always crowded with people having a drink after work. From talking to staff it appears that some refurbishment is being undertaken and that may be the reason that the restaurant was only open for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbjressex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location, comfortable stay and wonderful service.

We stayed at Loews for a friend's wedding in Chinatown. The hotel was a 20 minute walk from our destination.

When we returned late at night, we found the door locked and we weren't allowed to enter unless we displayed our room key. I found it comforting that they have measures to keep their guests safe.

The hotel receptionist had a very positive attitude and took the time to remember my name. Pretty impressive given the number of guests she has to speak to in a given day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this hotel very last minute after walking out of a 5* star hotel after they mixed up our booking and tried to cover up for it by speaking to and treating us in an appalling manner.
We arrived at Lowes at 8.30pm and were immediately greated by Sean at the door in a friendly and welcoming manner. We went to the check in desk where we were greater by Nikki Attia, Amanda Slade and Leah Rice. They could see we were very distressed after our experience at the previous hotel and manged to calm us down, having a laugh with us about what had happened. My friend later nicknamed these ladies the 'Charlies Angels'. They were very professional and listened to what had happened to us and apologised, even though it had nothing to do with them. They assured us this hotel was much nicer, it was!
We went up to our room, which was far superior to the 'junior executive suite' we'd been allocated at the previous hotel. The 2 beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious with a separate tub and a double shower cubicle. We loved the little touches like the heated towel rail, the nightlight under the sink and the luxurious bathrobes. Having a fridge and a safe in the room was very helpful. Even the remote control lit up which meant you could use it in the dark.
The only slight complaint we had was that the AC could be a bit noisy at night, but we never even bothered complaining about this so it obviously wasn't that much of a big deal.
We ate at Cuff's the first night. First of all this is NOT an Irish bar anymore and once you get over that it is a really nice, relaxed bar with great service. We were waited on by Stephanie, she was fabulous, just the right side of friendly without being intrusive. She kept an eye on us throughout our meal and noticed when we needed our drinks topping up etc. The service was so good we asked to speak to the manger. Rob McCarron came to speak to us and we told him how impressed we were with Stephanie and that she should be training waitresses everywhere. Rob stayed talking to us for about half a hour, got us a map and basically acted as a tour guide telling us the best places to go to (invaluable advice). He was extremely helpful and very friendly throughout our stay.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel, we asked for crisps at 10pm one night and the lady on the desk said she'd send someone out for them...literally amazing staff!
Every time we went anywhere Stephanie, Rob, Nikki (I didn't see Amanda and Leah again as I didn't have to go to the check in desk) and Sean would remember us and check up on how we were doing and how our stay was going.
We really enjoyed our stay at Lowes and wish that the other 3 hotels we'd booked were like this one. Its in an excellent location in back bay, less than 5 minutes walk to Copley Square and much better than the previous hotel in the financial district which had been booked by our travel agent. This is how hotels should be! I would definitely return and would recommend this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe double double and we were really happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Traveller77_10,

I am so sorry that your trip to Boston didn’t start as planned…luckily for us!! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. You are very gracious in your comments and I have personally shared them with our entire team. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the thoughtfulness! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,075 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#45 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 6,175 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing