We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed June 22 - 26th and would return again.

ROOM: Got a large room with 2 queens (room 348). Room and large bathroom were very clean. Loved having the little fridge and the coffee maker in the room. Could hear the bathroom on the floor above but it really didn’t bother me. Only complaint is very minor - there is rust on the bathroom floor's shower-door stop.... It would not take much to fix.

LOCATION: Outstanding - near the T and Boston Common. Could walk to everything!

STAFF: Outstanding customer service - esp thankful for the help from ShaRae (front desk) and Heather and Nikki (concierge desk).

FOOD: Loved the complimentary Starbucks in the lobby. Did not eat in the hotel – ate 2 breakfast meals at Panera and at a local Greek diner called Billys.

Room Tip: Room 348 was great with 2 queens and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof1inMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    430
    99
    24
    12
See reviews for
371
560
48
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are attending a convention at BCEC, then this hotel is not a good choice. Good luck trying to get a taxi during morning rush hour. The subway is not convenient and there's no bus connection nearby. I have never paid more for a downtown hotel room anywhere else in the world: including London, Paris, Tokyo, Hong Kong, and San Francisco. No free breakfast. The morning newspaper I requested at check-in never got delivered until I reminded them on the third day of my 4 night stay. It was absent my fourth day as well. I should have stayed at the Westin or Omni Parker House in Seaport District during the conference.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confucius_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We love to make a stop either before of after a week vacation in Cape Cod and decided to try the Loews since it was the lowest priced in the dowtown area with a special price for the long weekend (Canada Day). Comparer to the Boston Park Plaza that we usually go because of it's location, it wins on most topics. Doesn't have the same charm or history to it, but the Rome are bigger, bathroom more functionnal. The service is friendly and helpfull. Had food delivered to the room once and it was fresh and pretty good (soup, salad and burratta). The only downside for us would be the 46$/night valet parking (they think they're in NYC!!) but not having to take the car untill we left, we've found public parking at 32$/night (valet) down the block and maybe some self-parking in the area charge even less.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcAndre_StG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel experience was outstanding.We stayed there for four days with a large contingent and VIP that involved security and coordination with the hotel staff.
The Head of security was very cooperative the Hotel sales representative was oustanding,very professional and very courteous.
I was very impressed,alsso the location is adjacent to prime shopping and dining areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 853John_M60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I would agree with one of the previous reviews that sound proofing is definitely not adequate. We also experienced construction noise as well as noise from the bar at street level. Fortunately this ended before we were trying to sleep. I know the hotel is starting to be renovated, and it needs it, apart from the sound proofing, the carpets in our rooms were stained. That being said, the rooms are the most spacious out of any hotel I have stayed in in Boston, and the bathrooms are also very roomy. Complimentary wi-fi is a great touch, and there was a coffee maker in the room as well as complimentary Starbucks in the lobby. The location near Trinity church and the Boston Common is a great starting point for the Freedom Trail or just a walk around town. The staff was also very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oppie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINCHESTER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just returned from our five day trip to Boston from Virginia. The Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel was a perfect place to stay. We booked two rooms for our family and the desk clerk was kind enough to put us in corner rooms across from each other with a common door to the hallway. The rooms were spotless and spacious; the keurig coffee make was a plus; and the location was perfect to walk or take the T anywhere in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - if you need two rooms for a family, request rooms 409 and 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I chose Loews based on the great reviews and close proximity the Marriott where the conference I was attending was. The hotel is in a convenient location. The deluxe king was a good size. Clean, but a little dated. Room felt a little damp (but is WAS very humid out this week). Room service/food was VERY good. My only complaint would be the noise level. I asked for a quiet room...it was tucked in a corner away from the street. There was a very loud family with kids next door and I could hear every word coming through the vent near the closet. There is no insulation from the noise in hallway either. I slept with ear plugs, so it was ok. I have kids...I know how hard it is too keep everyone quiet. Hotels can be exciting for them. :) Not sure I would stay again only because I would prefer to stay attached to where I am conferencing. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,043 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing