We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy noisy noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Noisy noisy noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Property and rooms ok, previously this was the Back Bay Hotel and is not up to Loews standards. We turned the A\C off as it was noisy, and opened the window, we were woken at 11pm by building work outside which went on all night and continued all day. The hotel claimed not to know about it despite there being a building permit, so they would have had to known. Even when the window is closed it makes no difference to the noise levels, the windows aren't double glazed. They offered us a late check out till 12' we demanded until 3pm so our child could have a sleep as he had been awake all night. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, not the standard I expected for a $ 400 night stay. It's on a pretty busy noisy road and next to an intersection anyway. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 830 and I think all of the rooms around the 28 and 30 on all floors are next to the lifts so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TALLBIRD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    411
    96
    23
    10
See reviews for
339
518
48
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul,MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Paid $506.04 for two nights for a deluxe king room. Walking in we first noticed the carpet looked dirty/stained. The TV countertop also looked very dirty but was actually damaged. It just looked bad when walking into the room and was very noticeable. Room was large enough for the king bed but not much more. The bathroom garbage can foot control opener did not work, so we had to open with our hands. After walking all day we came back to the room and discovered that the room temperature was very, very warm (actually hot). We couldn't turn the heat down or off! We waited in the hallway until the problem was corrected by the hotel maintenance person. This problem was handled efficiently.
On the positive side the staff was very friendly. The doormen were always smiling and cordial. Starbucks coffee offered in the main lobby area in the morning, however there wasn't a coffee maker in the room. The location is very convenient to the subway or within walking distance to many sites. The bed and pillows were comfortable and we didn't have any problems with noise from the hallway or adjacent rooms.
Our room certainly needs some updates to improve it's appearance. Not sure I would pay this much for the same type of room again. Definitely not a luxury hotel room. If I stayed here again I would request to see the room first before committing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ponsib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our first visit to Boston, and we scored this lovely hotel on Priceline. It's in a terrific location close to Public Gardens, Boston Common, Back Bay, in fact, we found it a great home base for walking everywhere in the area. The standard king room was a nice size, very clean and well-maintained, with blackout curtains and nice bedding, and had a huge bathroom with towel warmer, storage, and a motion activated night light. The complimentary toiletries were truly a step up in quality from the typical ones provided. I'm a light sleeper, so when the a/c kicked on, it would wake me up in the middle of the night, but it was easy to go back to sleep. From the time we pulled up outside, the staff were all consistently friendly and helpful. Brandon (valet) and the girl at front desk (didn't get her name) patiently and knowledgeably answered all our questions and offered good suggestions. The hotel is beautiful both inside and outside, and there was an attractive bar downstairs that had tables and couches outside we didn't get a chance to try. Can't comment on any of the other amenities because we didn't use them. Overall, give the hotel a 4.5, and the staff get a solid 5 stars for friendly customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Decided to introduce my husband and kids to Boston in June. Since I have not visited since my late teens, I really didn't remember alot about places to stay, eat, etc.... Loews was a pleasant surprise! You are never really sure if a hotel will live up to the comments but let me tell you that Loews in the Back Bay really did! Really great location and close to the T.(You can absolutely walk around boston and ride the T to get around pretty easily.)

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The hotel has an upscale appearance and a great value, when you consider others that are comparable. I cannot say enough about the staff. The front desk staff was helpful and always smiling (Maybe it was our accents and they just didn't completely understand us). And the concierge steered us to great places to eat and visit. She was always available to help us plan our days (we stayed 4 and saw alot!).

So if you go to Boston, give Loews a go! Very close to the commons and the Patriot Walking Trail! Oh, and I almost forgot...you have to do the duck tour and go to a Sox game!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smellintherosesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located. It's modern, the rooms are large and the staff are friendly. We liked the fact that coffee making facilities were available in the room and that the shoe ploishing is free (although a good tip is expected.).
A decent breakfast is served at 20 Dollars and the bar serves tasty snacks. As everywhere in the US beware of the price of wine!!
We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigitteMenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Loews Back Bay. I led a group that occupied 5 rooms. The hotel is in an excellent location. Rooms were clean and had great bathrooms which included a large separate shower stall and heated towel rack.

What sets this property apart is its friendly staff. From check in to check out the staff was always eager to assist us with any request.

Overall I would give the property (Rooms, facilities, and amenities) a solid 4.5 stars and the staff 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are going to Boston-stay here! I am very picky and normally not satisfied, never mind rating a hotel excellent. Without even making a big deal of it, they let us check in 3-4 hours early. The staff was nothing but polite and accommodating. They even had umbrella's for guest use. The GM, John, was also nice, you can tell he really enjoys helping people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlahBlahBlah99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing