We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel/convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel/convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our first visit to Boston, and we scored this lovely hotel on Priceline. It's in a terrific location close to Public Gardens, Boston Common, Back Bay, in fact, we found it a great home base for walking everywhere in the area. The standard king room was a nice size, very clean and well-maintained, with blackout curtains and nice bedding, and had a huge bathroom with towel warmer, storage, and a motion activated night light. The complimentary toiletries were truly a step up in quality from the typical ones provided. I'm a light sleeper, so when the a/c kicked on, it would wake me up in the middle of the night, but it was easy to go back to sleep. From the time we pulled up outside, the staff were all consistently friendly and helpful. Brandon (valet) and the girl at front desk (didn't get her name) patiently and knowledgeably answered all our questions and offered good suggestions. The hotel is beautiful both inside and outside, and there was an attractive bar downstairs that had tables and couches outside we didn't get a chance to try. Can't comment on any of the other amenities because we didn't use them. Overall, give the hotel a 4.5, and the staff get a solid 5 stars for friendly customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    380
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
324
486
40
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Decided to introduce my husband and kids to Boston in June. Since I have not visited since my late teens, I really didn't remember alot about places to stay, eat, etc.... Loews was a pleasant surprise! You are never really sure if a hotel will live up to the comments but let me tell you that Loews in the Back Bay really did! Really great location and close to the T.(You can absolutely walk around boston and ride the T to get around pretty easily.)

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The hotel has an upscale appearance and a great value, when you consider others that are comparable. I cannot say enough about the staff. The front desk staff was helpful and always smiling (Maybe it was our accents and they just didn't completely understand us). And the concierge steered us to great places to eat and visit. She was always available to help us plan our days (we stayed 4 and saw alot!).

So if you go to Boston, give Loews a go! Very close to the commons and the Patriot Walking Trail! Oh, and I almost forgot...you have to do the duck tour and go to a Sox game!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smellintherosesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located. It's modern, the rooms are large and the staff are friendly. We liked the fact that coffee making facilities were available in the room and that the shoe ploishing is free (although a good tip is expected.).
A decent breakfast is served at 20 Dollars and the bar serves tasty snacks. As everywhere in the US beware of the price of wine!!
We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigitteMenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Loews Back Bay. I led a group that occupied 5 rooms. The hotel is in an excellent location. Rooms were clean and had great bathrooms which included a large separate shower stall and heated towel rack.

What sets this property apart is its friendly staff. From check in to check out the staff was always eager to assist us with any request.

Overall I would give the property (Rooms, facilities, and amenities) a solid 4.5 stars and the staff 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are going to Boston-stay here! I am very picky and normally not satisfied, never mind rating a hotel excellent. Without even making a big deal of it, they let us check in 3-4 hours early. The staff was nothing but polite and accommodating. They even had umbrella's for guest use. The GM, John, was also nice, you can tell he really enjoys helping people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlahBlahBlah99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and has a very friendly staff. We arrived early and were allowed to check in as well as arrange for a late check out on our departure day. The hotel also had a small welcome activity bag for our children. The room was on the small size even though we had paid for a "deluxe" room. I really can't imagine how the room could have been smaller so I don't know why it was labeled as deluxe. The HVAC system was quite noisy in the bedroom but there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. This meant that we were awakened periodically through the night by the air conditioning flipping on, but that the bathroom never de-misted from my family of four's showers. The public areas were nice but small and nothing terribly special. The bar area had a glitzy, dated decor. This wasn't a bad hotel but it was described as a luxury hotel and we paid close to three hundred for the room. Really, the only thing luxurious was the price. There were no perks, the sheets were scratchy, the bottled water in the room was $7 a bottle. If we had paid less, a lot less, I wouldn't find anything critical about this hotel, but given the price and the hotel's description of itself I expected a lot more. Next time in Boston I'll try one of the many other hotels offering rooms at similar prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

So glad I did not let a low review stop me from staying here. I had made reservations some time ago and then the week before our trip I read a pretty bad review and started looking for another hotel but decided to stick it out..... WOW, this has been one of the best of the several hotel we have stayed at in the last year. We arrived early and were able to get checked into our room. It was a King Suite on the 3rd floor rm 320. It was spacious, with a very very comfy bed and pillows. the bathroom was large and even had a towel warmer(nice touch) the robes were very soft.
It is a great location, we walked to the hotel from the Back Bay train station, we were close to Fenway, the trolley and shopping.
We were easily granted a late check out when asked, every associate of the hotel we encountered was very very nice and helpful.
I give it a 5 star rating

Room Tip: our room was a King Suite and it was a good size room we were room 320 in a corner and away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuePiazza62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,092 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 6,271 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Property: Loews Boston Hotel
Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116-5107 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing