We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center
Ranked #59 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed May 28, 2009

This will be my last time in a Hampton.
This room is supposed to be a "suite" but it is only a few feet bigger than their extremely small rooms. The room does not have any curtains other than sheers and with the high rise offices across the street there is no privacy or darkness for good sleeping.
If you care the shuttle drivers are great, if you tip good, and for a favor they will take you anywhere you want to go.
I have to say the bar is good and the staff friendly. Happy hour appetizers are well worth the money but the drinks are pricey. Make sure you bring your glasses to review your bill. This room has a bathroom sink that takes a half hour to drain, complaining does no good as there is no night maintenance staff. Or that is what I was told.
For a few extra dollars I could have found something better I hope.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    384
    196
    80
    45
See reviews for
395
201
88
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nskyline
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

I stayed here for a night on business. Overall it was very nice and neat looking. The only thing that I found really wrong was I found a curly hair on my blanket (not sheets). I would stay here again since the rooms were very spacious and nice looking. The bathrooms were nice and the shuttle service was a very nice addition!! The shuttle itself saved me lots of money and the drivers were helpful! Rudy's restaurant (attached to the hotel) had some of the best tasting chicken I can recently remember! (it was roasted chicken on a bed of rice with beans; I cannot remember the exact name of the dish.) Pretty good service there too. I would recommend this place to ppl interviewing at BU College of Dental Medicine since it is within walking distance (there was one other guy I met at the school that was staying there too).

I would stay again bc of the overall niceness/cleanliness of the place and the airport shuttle service!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in early March (during a snowstorm). The hotel is incredibly clean, the staff was very friendly. The rooms are plush and comfortable. I took the shuttle three times: what a great service!. Both of their drivers are just great; courteous, helpful and friendly. Another bonus was the free breakfast.
I cannot believe anyone would complain about a free shuttle. Get out and hail a cab you tightwad!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELEANORSDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

I had to book this hotel because I was attending a conference last minute and there were no room available in the area of Hynes Center. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is just looking for a clean hotel, this had to be one of the cleanest I have ever been in, and I am very picky. The carpet was new, the halls were bright, and the room had nice big desks to work at. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone attending a conference at Hynes. They have a free shuttle that runs however the first morning it was running 10 minutes behind and it is supposed to make certain stops, other people got on the shuttle and apparently tip the driver to take them to other locations, therefore my stop was actually last. In the evening they are supposed to make a stop by the convention center to pick up passengers a guy stopped by, I went up to get into the shuttle and he told me there was another shuttle right behind him and not to get on. Well of course a shuttle never came, I ended up having to cab it to and from the conference for 3 days. I realize they say they cannot 100% guarantee times, however just not showing up? and taking people to other stops? The other thing is if you do need to take a cab they have to call one which also took 10 minutes, so plan that into your schedule. I also would not recommend this hotel for the fitness room-It sucked the treadmills are old a rickety and downright dangerous. The area is not one I would run in.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Nice little hotel, with shuttle to and from the airport, friendly staff, clean rooms. Within walking distance to Boston U. Medical Center, which was great. Highly recommended if you're coming to the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolph99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We were in town for a hospital procedure so we decided to stay here because we have always liked Hampton Inn's and it offered a free shuttle to the hospital, airport, attractions, and free breakfast. We have visited Boston six different occasions for hospital stays and have stayed at most of the hotels near the Longwood Hospital district. This was by far the BEST hotel in the Longwood Hospital district for the money. The room was very clean and spacious (we had a junior suite). The breakfast was great and saved us a bunch of money. The free cookies, hot chocolate and coffee are a nice touch to end your day. They even have a little area where you can buy soup, frozen dinners, snacks, etc. The hotel is not that close to many restaurants (there is a Dunkin Donuts, McDonalds, and a pizza place within walking distance), however, just ask the front desk for delivery menus (there are many restaurants that will deliver). We ordered some Chinese food and it was brought to our door within 15 minutes....WOW! We used the shutte serivce many times and it saved us a load of money by not having pay for a cab. Gregory and True-See are the best drivers, they will go out of their way to help you and take you were you would like to go, they were very kind. However, the other drivers are only so-so. We would highly recommend this hotel and we will stay again!

Just a personal side note, if you like seafood you need to go to the Atlantic Fish Company on Boylston St, it was delcious!

  • Liked — Quiet and Clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABLDWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
235 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

The Hampton Inn at Crossroads is located adjacent to the Boston Medical Center and is a convenient place to stay for patients and their families who need short or extended lodgings. It is connected to the rest of the city by shuttle bus service but is in a fairly vacant neighborhood otherwise and is probably not very useful as a base for exploring the tourist areas. The staff is very helpful about supplying maps and directions, though, so if you have a car there is no issue with finding nearby spots to eat or shop.

Parking is located on the bottom level of an enclosed garage next to the hotel: be sure to get a garage pass first from the hotel and do not take the paper ticket on entry (you can't get out without explanation and phone calls to verify you are a guest). The lobby staff is quick and very helpful, there are elevators up to the rooms. I opted for a room with kitchenette, and it was very good: spacious and clean, with a usable kitchen area, sitting area for the television, and large king bed. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the room had extensive cable television, wireless internet, and in-room coffee. The bathroom was large and the shower / tub had good hot water and pressure.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lobby: it's a bit downscale consisting of pastries, pancakes, cereals, some mysterious eggs and bacon, and fruits. It tends to be fast and crowded in the mornings as people are rushing off to business and appointments: the lobby staff offers box breakfasts as an alternative. The daily papers are also available.

I thought that this was a good facility for it's access to the medical center, and the rooms were like studio apartments without having to upgrade to a suite. Pricing was reasonable and the staff was consistently helpful.

  • Liked — Apartment-style rooms, staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast, neighborhood
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center
Address: 811 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#53 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#57 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Boston Crosstown Center, next to Boston University Medical School, is a friendly and contemporary hotel with an urban vibe. The 175 room hotel features a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and to Longwood Medical area. Amenities include complimentary breakfast, indoor dipping pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Hotel Boston
Hampton Inn And Suites Boston Crosstown Center
Hampton Inn Boston
Boston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing