We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Italian market in the North End”
Review of Salumeria Italiana

Salumeria Italiana
Ranked #111 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Description: They will make a sandwich on fresh baked Italian with any meat they have in the case...
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The best Italian market in the North End”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

we make a special trip just to visit the Salumeria on Richmond Street. We get our olive oil and balsamic here, faithfully. We then head to the deli counter and get salami, ham, cappicola, etc and then top it off with marinated mozzarella and a fantastic antipasto! If there is still fresh bread for sale, we get some of that and then have a wonderful feast at home and pretend we're back in Tuscany! We live about 50 miles from Boston, but this market is worth the trip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A must stop when we get to Boston”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We love to spend our days wandering through the North End and our trip always includes Salumeria. We live in Maine and I take full advantage of our trips up stock up on pantry items. Our girls hover near the cheese counter and always have a long list of "wants" and "needs". I'm always happy to oblige! The staff is friendly and they know their product. It's such a great spot for a foodie... Whether you're the chef, the eater...or both!

Helpful?
1 Thank foodiegirl625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A treat”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Want a treat? Enjoy a great sandwich? Well, this is the place to buy the best cold cuts in Boston. A lot of other gourmet one of a kind items but the cold cuts are above all why I go there monthly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 88ExeterTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
191 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a lovely old world style grocery/deli/”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful choices of olives, cheeses, meats, breads, pastas, balsamic vinegar, and so much more!
The owner sits near the door and greets everyone who comes in the door.
He is 94 years old!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Real Italiana”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent ! Fantastic cheese and old world meats. Service a delight Not to be missed. Imported and quality products

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salumeria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Salumeria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing