We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dunday Jazz Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hawthorne

The Hawthorne
Ranked #173 of 3,140 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Dunday Jazz Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The Hawthorne is a great taste of old New England. We went for Sunday brunch. There was a pianist with a bassist who played very nice music. The brunch was $19.95 and gave choices of three courses. I started with a melody of fresh fruit which came with some yogurt and granola. I then had eggs Benedict which was good but I've had better. My Mother loved the corn beef hash and sister had crab cake Benedict she said was great. I chose the flour less chocolate cake which was dense and moist. Most chose the doughnut bread pudding which they said was over the top! Nice cocktail selections for brunch as well. Service was the only lacking feature. Scornful looks when we asked for additional items, not one smile, sidebar audible conversation amongst them how they quit working at another near by restaurant as they weren't making any money..spilled a whole tray of bloody Mary's etc. I would go back for music and food though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Napamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    20
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Craft cocktails and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love the Hawthorne and a great stop for a cocktail before or after a Red Sox game. Very knowledgable staff but also friendly and helpful. There is a limited food selection - but it is very good and interesting choices, not typical bar food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaS02110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A rare treat in Boston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

While we are not huge cocktail people, The Hawthorne came highly recommended and did not disappoint. The atmosphere was genuinely friendly...everyone working there seemed to be happy to be there and to serve us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bdemmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The drinks were terrific. If you get the pretzels and mustard - Be warned the mustard is hot! My favorite drink was the wild Redhead it was spicy and different in a good way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shellie7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The bartenders really know their stuff: they specialize in mixing great cocktails. The menu fills you in on all the possibilities - and you sense early on that the possibilities are endless. If you've seen "It's a Wonderful Life": the scene where Clarence the angel asks for a special drink in the local rough bar, and is thrown into the snow? The bartenders at The Hawthorne would have loved Clarence. And made sure he loved his drink.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing