We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more from a hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International - Boston
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more from a hostel.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

As far as hostels go this is the best value for money I've ever received. Very modern hostel, the rooms are very spacious and kept clean. There are so many bathrooms on each level so there was always one available when I needed it and they were very clean also. I feel it lacked a certain atmosphere that I've had in other hostels though, perhaps because it is so big, I'm not sure. Would still stay here again though if I'm ever back in Boston.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdwngs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    307
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
51
97
461
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location is perfect which is why most people stay there. And in a city where hotels and motels are very expensive, it is a cheaper option. As a married couple backpacking, it would be nice to see private rooms go for less than the asking $189 USD. It still cost us $110 per night for the two of us to stay in bunk beds with 4 others. So yes, it is not cheap to stay here but still one of the cheaper options in Boston! Also some of the staff were not very helpful mainly due to them not listening properly to what we were asking or saying on the front desk. Got the impression they were new as in between seasons, so maybe that was just our experience with them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Looking at the Prices of Hotels in Boston, I think this is one of the best choices. Location is simply superb.
- 20 mins drive from Logan Airport
- 2 mins walk from China Town
- 5 mins from Washington St, a major Shopping St
- Very close to subway stations
- 5 mins walk to Boston Commons Park & the Tourist Center
- Nice restaurants in the vicinity

I stayed in the Private roon during my trip. The rooms are spacious, neat & clean.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

They sell Tea/ Coffee/ Muffins/ Bagels etc at the Lobby; very decently priced. Locker facility available at $3.

Overall, a highly recommended option to stay during a business/ pleasure trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhitraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I'm a frugal parent paying for a Boston university tuition, so this is where I stay when coming for a visit. No need to spend more money just for a fancy place to sleep. Rooms were nice and clean, the place friendly and welcoming, and great eats nearby since its in the Boston Chinatown. I just need to remember to bring a lock next time for my room locker, and to remember the rooms are pretty warm - light sleepwear is needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moley58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I booked HI Boston for our recent Guildford Cathedral Choir (UK) tour. We were a group of 16 boys and 14 adults. From my initial enquiry to the moment we left, the communication and helpfulness of HI Boston staff was brilliant and faultless. Our boys and chaperones were accommodated in their own wing behind closed doors, complying with our strict UK safeguarding rules. The rooms were modern clean, comfortable and safe. Breakfast was excellent, self-service with a huge variety to suit all tastes. We were given our own safe storage room to store our luggage for the whole day on our day of departure. Finally, I felt it was extremely good value for money. I would highly recommend for a large group or just as a single person.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The best hostel I have ever seen!! Very friendly staff, super clear place and quite place, but with a huge number of activities for those who seek for party!! The only "problem" is the high price you have to pay for that. A little overpriced for backpackers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lyngby, Danmark
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Boston is an expensive place, but i think its the best place in town. Beeing near downtown in china town there are plenty of eateries near by. The staff is friendly and gladely helps. The single rooms (good for up to 3 people) are just fantastic, clean, spacy and I even had 5 windows. the breakfast that is included is ok, nothing fancy though

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woaqzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,982 reviews
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,398 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#33 of 83 in Boston
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Boston

Property: Hostelling International - Boston
Address: 19 Stuart St., Boston, MA 02116-4723
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Boston 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean contemporary hostel with great amenities including free linen, continental breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostelling International - Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing