We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I imagined”
Review of HI Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HI Boston
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to stay. The place is very clean, at a walking distance from Boston Common, the Public Garden and the back bay station. Great atmosphere, free wifi, nice staff, delicious breakfast and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alinedel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at HI Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I'm happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! Hope to see you again sometime.

Cheers,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this hostel for three nights in July. The hostel is very modern and is in a great location - train station was very close. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the bathrooms were very spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at HI Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location. It's nice just being a short walk away from the train... ;)

Cheers,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a centrally located, clean and safe place to stay. It has just had a major renovation and it is the best most modern hostel that I have stayed at. I especially liked the bathrooms, it was like a hotel, one person and the door locked, private shower. The free breakfast was an added bonus. The folks at the desk were very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. They even had comedy show one evening in the lobby (it was not very good). Activities were also available such as a trip to the museum.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at HI Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I'm happy to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and that you enjoyed the private bathrooms. I did hear that the humor was not up to par on that night for comedy, hope we can make it up to you some time. ;)

Cheers,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I think this hostel is the only option that is located in the downtown core. Very nice location, clean and well maintained rooms, free breakfast (although don't expect something more), spacious public areas where you can talk with other travelers, large kitchen where you can cook, a locker in the room and downstairs where you can store your luggage for 3 dollars (useful when you arrive earlier than the check in time and you want to explore the city), clean washrooms, the list goes on and on. It's a little pricier than the normal hostel but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renzyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at HI Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a value. Hope to see you again. Happy travels!

Cheers,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hostelling international in Boston was in a great location, an easy walk to the beginning of the freedom trail, Quincy markets and the metro to Harvard. Enjoyed our stay. Hostel is very modern with a large kitchen and dining area. Rooms were clean and simple.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at HI Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, kitchen and dining area so much. If there's anything you think we can do differently to improve sleep quality, please shoot me an email at AGM.Boston@hiusa.org. I see that you did not rate that as high as some other areas and we're really aiming high on that. ;) Thanks again for taking the time to comment. We hope to host you again sometime.

Cheers,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I don't even have to say much about this hostel. Great base to stay in when u just land in Boston and don't know anything about the city. Staff are so great and friendly, so eager and willing to help with anything. WiFi service is superb, beds are super comfy, hostel is quiet and nice so you'll get a good nights sleep and the showers are brilliant. Can't say a bad word.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mixed dorm and there was zero problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidolynskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at HI Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks Jane! I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be so helpful. We hope to see you again. Best wishes on your travels.

Cheers,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cracking hostel in the middle of Boston! A short walk to the nearest subway stop, this hostel is impeccably clean and superbly designed with great social spaces.

The rooms themselves are laid out well, you don't feel cramped or overlooked at all. The beds are comfortable and have individual cubby holes fitted with both lights and electrical outlets allowing to charge items through the night without having to have them across the room from you. Each bed's large locker is located with the bed and fit the standard HI lock. The rooms also had full length mirrors and coat hooks.

Our room had a bathroom connected to it (coolest shower curtains!!) as well as being surrounded by a number of other private bathrooms for when ours was occupied. These were kept very clean as were the rooms.

Breakfast was basic but satisfactory and the downstairs desk offed baked goods and other bits and pieces. The free cookies on the reception desk were also a nice touch.

The staff were all very bubbly and friendly; maps were available along with their helpful advice- additionally, there were a great selection of activities on during our stay.

All this and crazy cheap. STAY HERE- you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissWelshBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at HI Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our place so much. We have just started selling the Boston transit shower curtains ($15), so if you'd like us to get you one, we can send one off to you, just let me know. Hope to see you again sometime. Happy travels!

Cheers,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 85 in Boston
3,854 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 85 in Boston
556 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Boston

Address: 19 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4723
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range: $56 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Boston 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean contemporary hostel with great amenities including free linen, continental breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HI Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing