We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International - Boston
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a centrally located, clean and safe place to stay. It has just had a major renovation and it is the best most modern hostel that I have stayed at. I especially liked the bathrooms, it was like a hotel, one person and the door locked, private shower. The free breakfast was an added bonus. The folks at the desk were very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. They even had comedy show one evening in the lobby (it was not very good). Activities were also available such as a trip to the museum.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm happy to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and that you enjoyed the private bathrooms. I did hear that the humor was not up to par on that night for comedy, hope we can make it up to you some time. ;)

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    296
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
45
93
435
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I think this hostel is the only option that is located in the downtown core. Very nice location, clean and well maintained rooms, free breakfast (although don't expect something more), spacious public areas where you can talk with other travelers, large kitchen where you can cook, a locker in the room and downstairs where you can store your luggage for 3 dollars (useful when you arrive earlier than the check in time and you want to explore the city), clean washrooms, the list goes on and on. It's a little pricier than the normal hostel but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renzyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a value. Hope to see you again. Happy travels!

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hostelling international in Boston was in a great location, an easy walk to the beginning of the freedom trail, Quincy markets and the metro to Harvard. Enjoyed our stay. Hostel is very modern with a large kitchen and dining area. Rooms were clean and simple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, kitchen and dining area so much. If there's anything you think we can do differently to improve sleep quality, please shoot me an email at AGM.Boston@hiusa.org. I see that you did not rate that as high as some other areas and we're really aiming high on that. ;) Thanks again for taking the time to comment. We hope to host you again sometime.

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I don't even have to say much about this hostel. Great base to stay in when u just land in Boston and don't know anything about the city. Staff are so great and friendly, so eager and willing to help with anything. WiFi service is superb, beds are super comfy, hostel is quiet and nice so you'll get a good nights sleep and the showers are brilliant. Can't say a bad word.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mixed dorm and there was zero problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidolynskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks Jane! I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be so helpful. We hope to see you again. Best wishes on your travels.

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cracking hostel in the middle of Boston! A short walk to the nearest subway stop, this hostel is impeccably clean and superbly designed with great social spaces.

The rooms themselves are laid out well, you don't feel cramped or overlooked at all. The beds are comfortable and have individual cubby holes fitted with both lights and electrical outlets allowing to charge items through the night without having to have them across the room from you. Each bed's large locker is located with the bed and fit the standard HI lock. The rooms also had full length mirrors and coat hooks.

Our room had a bathroom connected to it (coolest shower curtains!!) as well as being surrounded by a number of other private bathrooms for when ours was occupied. These were kept very clean as were the rooms.

Breakfast was basic but satisfactory and the downstairs desk offed baked goods and other bits and pieces. The free cookies on the reception desk were also a nice touch.

The staff were all very bubbly and friendly; maps were available along with their helpful advice- additionally, there were a great selection of activities on during our stay.

All this and crazy cheap. STAY HERE- you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWelshBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our place so much. We have just started selling the Boston transit shower curtains ($15), so if you'd like us to get you one, we can send one off to you, just let me know. Hope to see you again sometime. Happy travels!

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel ( my 1st ever by the way ) in September. I was a little nervous at first but after I checken in, I felt relaxed. The room are clean, nice big locker for your stuff, and my favorite part was the little cubby that is behind your head so you can out your personal items there while you sleep. It's also nice because it has outlet for your chargers, and an individual light already included. As far as the rest of the place goes, it was well kept. The back were in abundance with a shower in each one and a huge kitchen. Breakfast was cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels, toast, and hard boiled eggs. Nothing special but for the price you're paying tobstay there, I'm just happy is available. I hope to be back in the future. Thanks again.

Helpful?
Thank review1991
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I'm happy to hear that we were able to make your first hostelling experience such a good one. We hope to see you again next time you're in Boston!

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in quite a few hostels across the USA and Europe and this is by far the nicest one I've ever stayed in. The hostel is still new, and my roommates and I decided that this hostel is what Ikea would make if they decided to get into the hosteling business.

The rooms are very clean, with your own pod so to speak. Each bed had its own locker (bring your own lock or supply your own), reading light, cubby hole, and set of four electric plugs. The rooms are all key card entry and have a night light switch by the door in addition to the regular switch.

The bathrooms were my favourite. I'm used to the kinds you get in other hostels - this one rivaled ones I get in hotels. They were spotlessly clean, filled with paper towels, soap, bath mats, ledges for your stuff and plenty of hooks. There were also enough bathrooms that I never had to wait.

The front staff were all friendly, helpful and quick. I love the little cafe in the lobby as well. The hostel is in a great location with lots of transit nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your awesome stay. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the privacy and features of our dorm beds. Happy travels!

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,064 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Boston

Property: Hostelling International - Boston
Address: 19 Stuart St., Boston, MA 02116-4723
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Boston 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean contemporary hostel with great amenities including free linen, continental breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostelling International - Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing