We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Nice Choice in a Good Location”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family for one night while we were touring Boston. We were staying on Marriott Rewards points, and it was available, so we went for it for a night before moving across town to another hotel.

The Courtyard is located in an historic restored apartment building, called 88 Exeter. We were a little bit confused when we first arrived, because all of the signage directly in front of the hotel entrance says 88 Exeter, rather than Courtyard by Marriott. We figured out we were in the correct place quickly enough once we looked up and saw the Courtyard sign. Just be aware, this hotel is also referred to as 88 Exeter.

The location of the hotel is only about 1 block from Copley Square, and right in the thick of a nice area with lots of other hotels, restaurants, and shopping within a couple of blocks, like the Copley Place mall, Prudential Center, and departure point for different tours like the popular duck tours. There is a Lord & Taylor directly across the street, as well as a Shaw’s supermarket, which found was helpful for picking up some snacks. Nearby restaurants include many chains, like California Pizza Kitchen, Uno, Cheesecake Factory, and PF Chang’s, as well as Dunkin’ Donuts and Starbucks for coffee. There didn’t appear to be too many independent restaurants nearby, but we really didn’t walk too far away from the hotel. The area around the hotel is very nice, tourist-friendly, and safe.

We arrived at the hotel around noon and were able to check-into our room with 2 queen beds. The lobby in the hotel is a bit awkward, probably due to the architectural constraints of the building. The front desk is right there when you walk in, with the rest of the lobby, or library, as the front desk staff referred to it, in a room attached. The library room includes one computer with internet access, as well as several seating areas. One odd thing we noticed in the lobby was a padlocked refrigerator of alcohol that sits in the empty lobby area near the front desk. It seemed a bit odd and tacky to have that sitting in the lobby the way it was, and I’m not sure why it was there. When checking us in, front desk staff was efficient, but definitely lacking in friendliness. Each time you walk into the hotel, you have to walk right past the front desk, since it’s right by the elevators and front door, but never once did the front desk staff greet us in the few times we went in and out. There wasn’t a real sense of welcoming at this hotel. I would think this would be a priority at a hotel that is trying to brand itself as a boutique version of Courtyard by Marriott.

Our room was located on the top floor, which I believe is the 10th. Since it is a relatively small hotel, there are only about 7 or 8 rooms on each floor. Our room was located on the end of our floor, which meant it was a very nice size! The room was oddly shaped, and had interesting walls that curved up to the ceiling, which gave it some character. The room had an open foyer area right when we walked in, with a table and a bit of open space, which we found to be good for storing our luggage. The room was otherwise a standard Courtyard room, with the typical bedding and décor. The area beyond the foyer seemed larger than a typical room, probably because of the odd shape. Everything was very clean and in good condition. The tv looked like it was recently replaced with a new flat screen. We had a fine view across to the shopping areas by Copley Place. The bathroom was also relatively large, although not very upgraded. It was a bit stripped down looking, without any upscale fixtures. However, it was just fine for our night, and standard for a Courtyard. Overall, the room was very comfortable and quite large for a city hotel room. I have the feeling every room in this hotel is different. Our room was also very quiet, and there is free internet via an Ethernet connection. One small complaint I had was that the desk area wasn’t overly functional for working. The desk chair was too low for comfortable working on the desk, and the tv took up a bunch of space that would otherwise be good desk space. The room also had a small refrigerator in it, although it didn’t get overly cold.

Parking at the hotel is $42 per night, and the valets were not always around. When we first arrived, we had to request that the car be taken, but later in the night, when we got our car out, there was a valet available. They were very responsive when they were around. When we needed a taxi, there were none right by the hotel, and it would have been helpful to have a valet there to call one for us.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I’m not generally a fan of the Courtyard chain, but we gave it a chance, and it impressed me. The boutique-ish style of it and interesting room made it unique. I only wish the hotel could let the unique building and all of its character stand out more. The hotel has been made a bit modern and up-to-date, to conform to the standard Courtyard look. I wish they were able to decorate the hotel more in keeping with the style of the building. I would also have liked a friendlier staff to make us feel more welcome in the hotel. Otherwise, it’s good. It’s in a very nice location for touring Boston, and it’s clean and comfortable. It was a great value for us, using points. The rooms were going for around $250 per night when we were there. I’m not sure if it’s really worth this much. I know hotels in Boston are pricey, but I think you may be able to find something slightly better for that price point. It’s a solid choice, but it definitely lacks any real luxury and grandeur if that’s what you’re looking for. I think with a couple small changes, the hotel could have it all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrg0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    416
    71
    16
    17
See reviews for
436
424
109
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We were in Boston for the 4th of July weekend. This was the best rated hotel we found on tripadvisor for the value. Cheapest hotel I found after a thorough search and it was worth it. The front desk staff was great and really helpful; the room was ready right upon early check-in; Breakfast was included in my package and was good. We parked in the garage across the street - About $33 dollars the night, but finding a cheaper one was difficult. This was convenient to the hotel. Definitely walking distance to nearby Newbury street shopping, restaurants and Fenway (about 25 min walk). Would stay here again next time in Boston...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lc1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Our room had 2 very comfortable queen sized beds. The pillows were so comfortable we actually ordered 2 for our home.(shopmarriot.com). A fridge was also provided which was great to hold our cannoli from Mike's pastry (in the northend). Shaw's grocery store 2 blocks away. Our room overlooked the side street and was very quiet. I believe free internet was provided however our wireless devices were unable to connect in our rooms. The hotel felt like it's geared for the business traveler but it suited our purpose wonderfully. Just 2 or 3 blocks from the T(subway) that can get you anywhere in the city you choose. About 20 mins to Faneuil Hall area. There is a small breakfast area but no lunch or dinner or bar. There is another larger and full scale Marriott two blocks away
with a nice sports bar and good pub food

Service was impeccable by all staffers. Smiles all around and sincerely glad to help out.
We had a major issue when late one evening the laundry room's dryer kept shutting off every 5 mins and all of our clothes were soaking wet. When I reported this to the manager they offered the hotel's own industrial size dryer to use for free. Additionally, they compted us breakfast for our troubles. To compound our fiasco my son's cell phone got knocked out of the 2nd floor window of the laundry room and landed on some minimum access roof area. Again, the manager Justin told me he didnt know how to access that area but would have have someone tend to it in daylight.(yeah right) Well 7am the next am we get a call stating that our cell phone was retrieved. No attitude and glad to help. You can't beat this kinda service anywhere.

Mcgreevy's within walking distance. (0.5 miles) Fenway 1.4 miles but a nice and SAFE walk even at night. T station 2 blocks away also goes to fenway. A Few blocks from the mall,grocerys, Duncan donuts, Finagle a Bagel,CVS.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeghandleMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Marriott in Boston - everything was really close by and we walked or took the subway during our 2 night stay. We enjoyed Copley Square and Newbury Street - really didn't end up spending that much time in the hotel because there was so much to see. It was a basic, clean, easy access hotel. Nothing extra special, but all that we needed for the Boston end of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed here a year or two ago and were pleased with that stay. This time, however, we were given a smaller room and its decor was getting pretty long in the tooth (guess that 'elite' Marriott rewards thing doesn't count for much)--with stains on the carpet, smudges on the ceiling over the HVAC vent, and a comforter that didn't manage to cover the bare box spring. While there is a computer and printer in the downstairs lounge (a particularly nice touch for those who need to print boarding passes), the in-room computer access was plug-in only with no Wi-Fi, so I couldn't access email there on my iPod. A large wide-screen TV offered a stretched picture, with no way to adjust the view. With breakfast (not included), parking, and taxes, our $212 daily rate ended up being about $300 a night. The location is still great, and service helpful, but this hotel didn't seem to provide as much value this time around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZipZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We chose this hotel because we're Marriott rewards members and we had to check into the Sheraton Boston the next day for a conference which was more expensive. The lobby has to be the smallest lobby I've ever been in but still updated and clean. The staff were very efficient and friendly. We had to ask for directions several times and they never acted inconvenienced. You're a 10 minute walk from Boston Common, which is where we parked. Tons of shopping and restaurants on Boyleston. Tubes can take you to the waterfront or fenway. I do think it was a little over priced but I realize its the city so what can you do?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathen302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We were upgraded to a larger room even without asking. Justin at the front desk was very helpful and gave us free breakfast and fixed the noise from the air conditioner right away. Right near shopping and the subway, walking distance to all. Comfortable stay. Not as fancy as the Marriott next door, but if you are just sleeping there, it is adequate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna2349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,718 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,637 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Copley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Copley Square

Property: Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Address: 88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Copley Square 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Boston Copley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Copley Square Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing