We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Jewel in Boston's Back Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott at 88 Exeter St. is one of Boston's best kept secrets. Nestled in a lovely historic building in Back Bay, the Courtyard meets every expectation when it comes to convenience, personal service and lovely accommodation. This is our "go-to" hotel when we head for Boston either for pleasure or for business and we have stayed there on and off for several years. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful, courteous and welcoming. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable after a day of either sight-seeing or meetings. Not only is 88 Exeter centrally located within the city, it is easily accessible from the Massachusetts Turnpike, the Back Bay station of Amtrak, or the airport. We will always choose this property and look forward to our return!

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms - either the 04 or 05 line - for old fashioned Boston charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaSolaris, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear VTWindyrise,

thank you so much for your kind review, we truly appreciate it! I'm glad to read that we are your 'go-to hotel' for many years now and that our staff is a big part of that decision. We strive to give everyone exceptional and personal service and I'm happy that our guests are grateful for this.
Please join us again soon, we look forward to it!

Warm regards,
Bernardo Gubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in October as part of a self-drive New England Tour. I had spent a number nights here before on business and recommended it to my wife. I'm glad I did as it lived up to my (and my wife's) expectations. The hotel is ideally situated with every Boston attraction in easy reach. The staff were very friendly, the room clean and spacious, the bed extremely comfortable, and the view from the 31st. floor fantastic. It was also remarkably quiet for a large hotel. Some reviews note that the lifts can be slow. When we were there there was in fact a notice board apologizing for the slow lifts and noting that everything was being done to rectify this. However, the lifts always arrived quickly when we needed them, never having to wait more than a couple of minutes at the very most. Although there is a hotel restaurant, we eat out as there are plenty of eating places nearby. Perhaps the only downside is that you have to pay for WiFi if you want to use a computer in your room, but it is free in the lounge areas. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: As high as possible if you want a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the moment you arrive to the second you leave this hotel is devoted to making sure your stay is perfect. They greet you, care for you, answer all your questions, and treat you with kindness and respect. I saw this red carpet service repeated over and over - not just with us - but with everyone! When we got to the room we were amazed. This room was super clean, well decorated, had wonderful linens - and yes - even robes in the closet! The view from the 10th floor was pretty good too. So if you want a newer room (granite in bathroom), great work space desk, free internet, a comfortable bed, and a wonderful sitting area in your lobby then stay here - you will be as wowed as we were! A shout out to Bernardo, the manager, who thanks EVERYONE for staying with him as they leave - this Courtyard is truly his home and he treats you as though you are a guest in his home. Unbelievable! PS They have a program where you can buy your breakfast the night before for $10. So this would be $20 for two. The previous morning we were at the Fairmont and paid $57. for the SAME THING!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The fitness room has all new equipment - its in the basement - it has a wall mounted tv. Very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaSolaris, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Dsir,

thank you for your review! It's a great pleasure to read that your stay was was perfect and that you liked our rooms and breakfast so much. The rooms were all recently renovated and I'm glad you like them.

We hope to welcome you again soon to enjoy our hotel and breakfast!

Kind regards,
Bernardo Gubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

In a city with many expensive hotels, this one is a very good value. Great location next to the Boston Public Library and convenient to many other destinations. The building itself is not particularly distinctive, but that was not much of an issue for us. The rooms are not huge, but are nicely decorated, with comfy beds.

The staff was very courteous and attentive. I explained that I had a late flight out, so they accommodated my late checkout request without hesitation. Had a glitch with the timing of one of our orders at breakfast, so it was comped without our even requesting it. I would definitely stay here again.

One note - Valet parking is $45 per day, so better to not bring a car.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to avoid street noise. You would need to be above the roof of the library to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_2_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaSolaris, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Travel_2_Texas,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review, we appreciate it. We are proud of our excellent location in the historical Back Bay area of Boston and I'm glad it was convenient for your trip purpose.
We hope to welcome you again soon and thanks again.

Kind regards,
Bernardo Gubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visit Boston several times a year for pleasure trips. After staying at many hotels in the Boston area The Courtyard Copley Square quickly became our favorite. It is located in the BackBay area which is a favorite place for many travelers. The hotel is centrally located to fabulous shopping, excellent restaurants, museums, and several beautiful parks. It is a smaller hotel (about 90 rooms) with windows that open and free coffee in the morning. The staff makes you feel as if you visit all the time by paying attention to details and your personal needs. Because of all these welcoming features you should book early as rooms fill up fast.
Enjoy,
Susan J.W.G.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaSolaris, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Susan,

thank you for this nice review and recommendation to other TripAdvisor users! I'm glad to hear that our hotel is your Boston favorite and we hope that you will visit us many more times in the future. Our staff is dedicated to give each and every guest full attention and personal service and it's my pleasure to read that you had a good experience with them.

Warm regards,
Bernardo Gubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Boston, it's close to everything and the staff is excellent. The rooms are very clean and well appointed.I'm pretty picky and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 920JayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaSolaris, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear 920jayS,

thank you so much for your review! It's a pleasure to read that you recommend our hotel to others and that you rated our staff and cleanliness so well.

Please visit us again in the future!

Warm regards,
Bernardo Gubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dear Folks,
The Marriott at Exeter is a great, unique hotel. My wife and I have visited here many times over the years, and it has proven itself over and over.
This is not a standard hotel, even a standard "Boutique" hotel. It is a unique establishment, with outstanding rooms, impeccably clean, and the most professional staff we have met, in the many Boston hotels we've visited.
Breakfast is adequate, but the lobby is friendly and welcoming.
The area around the hotel is excellent, safe, and central. We love this hotel.
Sincerely Yours,
John Griffin

Room Tip: Ask for 07 or 05 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaSolaris, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Copley Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Mr. Griffin,

your review was truly a joy to read, thank you very much! It's great to hear that you like our hotel and the location so much. We strive to give every guest professional and personal service and I'm glad to hear that we lived up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Bernardo Gubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,470 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#16 of 86 in Boston
3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Copley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Copley Square

Address: 88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $149 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Copley Square 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Boston Copley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Copley Square Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing