We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Hidden Gem”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed two nights on Memorial Day weekend 2007 in a King Deluxe. The great thing about the Onyx is that is a new, off-the-beaten path hotel with a modern, trendy feel to it. It is not a mammoth hotel (I think there are only 11 floors). It is perfect if you want a short walk to North End (Little Italy), the Waterfront, and to Fanueil Hall/ Quincy market, as well as Gov't Center, the Boston Common and Beacon Hill.

The hotel itself is looks brand new with a modern lobby, etc. We previously stayed at a Klimpton in Scottsdale AZ, which had a similar well-appointed touch.

The room we stayed in, on the 9th Floor in a King Deluxe, was modernly furnished, very new, and clean. The front desk and attendants were very helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to convey a friendly attitude.

Two other small items worth mentioning demonstrating the good nature of this hotel: First, upon arrival, the hotel was just ending its complimentary wine hour. After telling us that we had "just missed it", one of the hotel attendants later hand delivered a complimentary bottle of pinot grigio to our room. Second, after check out and on our trip home, we realized that we had inadvertently left our (expensive) memory-foam pillow in the room. We called the hotel, and it turned out that their housecleaning staff put it aside for us, and the hotel offered to ship the pillow to us promptly at no charge.

No regrets, except the $38 daily valet charge I thought was a bit steep.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BriKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2007

This was our second time at the Onyx. It was just as good if not better than the first time. We chose it again because it's a VERY pet friendly hotel without bothering any other guests. They don't have a weight limit on dogs either! There was a 80 pounder the same time we were. All the pets stay on the same floor so when you book either through the hotel website or another website make sure to call and confirm. They will ask the dogs weight and name, when you arrive they have a welcome sign with your dogs name on it with a bowl of dog treats.

The staff was very helpful with everything from arrival to departure. Super polite too. The hotel is off a quiet street right near the new Boston Garden. 5 min walk to Quincy Market and less than 5 min walk to either Haymarket or North Station T stops. It's on the green line so no changing trains to get to Fenway Park. Also walking distance (15 min) to Boston Common and Newbury street shopping. About a 20 min. walk to Charles River. We will stay again.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We booked the Onyx hotel because of the location. It was close to the TD Banknorth Center and the T. It was just perfect to get around the city quickly. The staff was very friendly and knowledable about surounding events and places. The room was small, but comfortable and quiet and peaceful. They had our room ready at 10am day of check in!! The beds are to die for!! There are 3 little pubs/bars on the same street that was very convenient and nice, and also a 7/11 on the corner for any general/food needs with prices that were very reasonable...for Boston. Room service and the restaurant is a bit expensive. I would recommend actually going somewhere "special" if you are going to pay that kind of money.
All in all i was very satisfied with the hotel. Just keep in mind that the rooms are a bit smaller, and the decor is a bit different.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank TheTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Just back from the Onyx hotel. We loved our stay, confortable bed, nice view, great service and friendly staff and valet service. Close to Hanovre street where are all the nice italian restaurants and cafes. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

The Onyx hotel is a great place to stay in Boston. The hotel is a boutique style hotel like most Kimpton properties but what really made the difference was the staff. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are a little smaller than I'm used to but they are nice. The view I had from my room wasn't so great though. Overall the hotel was very pleasant. I highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Misha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

This was the first time I chose to stay in a "boutique" hotel in Boston. We got what was supposed to be a great rate ($180) plus taxes and parking and ended up paying at over $240. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in, and I have been traveling for 30 years. If you have read any other reviews on this site you will find reference to the maddening humming noise that actually made our room vibrate. The staff was over-friendly and the one hotel bar was closed for a private function. Complaints at checkout about the room size and noise were just ignored. Unless you are in town for a sporting event at the Fleet center you can do far better at hotels closer to Faniuel Hall.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pls1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We stayed four nights at this hotel. The location is great-close to the airport, North End, Faneul Hall, and T access. The rooms are a bit small but for the rate it was fine and comfortable for two of us. We also enjoyed the Ruby Room bar that they had in the lobby for a pre dinner cocktail.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank TristaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,086 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,681 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $175 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing