We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location-” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great location-”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

great location, just feet from north station, boston garden, north end, etc. the street is quiet, mostly offices. we slept great here. the room was cozy and quiet at all times. if you want to go out, canal street is the next one over with all of the bars. 5 minutes to the airport via cab and a short walk or subway ride anywhere in the city. staff was super friendly and helpful, we loved the complimentary lime water, morning coffee, and the nightly "wine hour" is perfect to start your night. highly recommend the onyx and will be looking forward to visiting again soon-

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet corner room on a high floor-
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetrun4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review jetrun4327! It is nice to read that you felt comfortable with our location, our rooms and were able to enjoy wine hour, coffee and other amenities we provide.

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    457
    154
    60
    24
See reviews for
265
516
67
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have just returned from a two week holiday to the States and our 4 days at the Onyx were an absolute highlight. Everything is made very easy. A ten minute taxi journey from the airport and we were being welcomed by very friendly, professional staff who are genuinely interested in making your stay a happy one. We were a family of four and the de luxe room on the sixth floor was adequately sized for us. The bathroom was really spacious and we didn't feel cramped at all. We were given vouchers for " breakfast for a dollar" for two mornings and free wi fi by being members of the Kimpton club which is free to sign up to. Best of all, when the staff realised that the trip was a special one for us they sent up a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries.
The personal touch was increased further by the photo of a loved one already in the room for our arrival. The hotel email you a couple of days before inviting you send one to them.
Another lovely touch is the wine hour at 5pm each evening. However the really special thing about this hotel is the staff. They get the balance just right of warmth and service. The doorman was the friendliest ever. The reception staff were excellent. They have just got the formula right here.
The location is brilliant. The street at first looks underwhelming but in four minutes you are in the heart of the North End in one direction and Beacon Hill in the other.
This is a lovely, trendy, friendly hotel. Exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear dallys,

Thank you for saying that we were the highlight of your trip! I am so happy we made you feel right at home. The team at the hotel truly love what they do, and enjoy making every person that comes through our doors feel like they just returned to family.

I hope the rest of your trip was a success and hope to see you amongst our guests in the future.

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Onyx at the end of July beginning of August. Can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. They were friendly and helpful in everyway. If you want to stay in Boston downtown close to attractions and venues, this is the location for you. We could see the TD Gardens from our room and Quincy market was a short 3 block walk. We also went to Fenway park by subway and it was a short walk to the station 1 block from the hotel.The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the free wine our in the lobby was a great extra after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REMACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Who doesn't love complimentary wine, right?! Glad you were able to join us for wine hour!

Thank you for the review REMACK, looks like we hit the mark with our location.

Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I recently had a lovely one night stay at the Onyx hotel, and would absolutely consider staying there again. Below is a list of the pros and cons:

Pros:
• Very close to the airport. I got in late at night and I appreciated only having a quick 10 minute cab ride
• Friendly staff
• Cool urban decor. I liked the pops of red and the Wicked pillow.
• Fast room service. I asked for toothpaste and it arrived in 3 minutes
• Tasty food. I just ordered a very simple fruit plate and eggs, but they were delicious and well presented.
• Free coffee in the morning. That was very helpful.
• Fun fluffy robe... enjoyed the leopard print
• Comfy bed
• Good hair dryer and shower head. I tend to be very picky on these two things in a hotel as weak water pressure and blow dryers really slow down my morning routine.
• Close to a lovely path on the Charles river which is great for running or walking. It was a bit hard to find said path (the directions the front desk gave me weren't totally correct) however once I did, it was a really great spot for a morning run.

Cons (just a few):
• The actual street it was on and surrounding streets weren't doing much for me, but it's so close to the action that I don't think it would really matter.
• The business center was frustrating. I needed to print out a few documents and each sheet took over a minute to print. As a result I actually had to extend my session, which ended up making it very costly just to print a few pages.
• WiFi wasn't free. I hate paying $13 just to use the internet for 20 minutes.

And that's it! All in all, I think this is a great option for the price and I'm glad I chose it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CallanGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I love love love your in depth review of us CallanGreen! It is a great representation of who we are, I couldn't have said it better myself. I am glad you loved the hotel, we love it too (but then again, we are a little biased)...

Regarding the cons you mention - the street doesn't always present in the best way, but it does have a lot of charm and is actually going to be worked on in order to improve its look.
The business center, well, I'm just plain sorry for that experience. It shouldn't have happened period. We are actually considering replacing what we offer in our business center, I think you may have just helped me make up my mind.
Lastly, while there is a charge for wifi, it is completely free if you are a Kimpton Karma rewards member, or join the program even while at the hotel (even if its just for the free wifi).

Hope to see you amongst our guests in the future,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a fun, funky hotel conveniently located in the heart of Boston. It’s within easy walking distance to TD Gardens, Faneuil Hall, Boston North Station, and a multitude of other attractions – including some great local pubs. With the oversized herringbone print carpet to the large hounds tooth print wallpaper in the bathroom and the bright red Chinese themed dresser, as well as the complementary leopard and zebra print bathrobes, the rooms here are lovely. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom is equipped with a lighted makeup mirror, blow dryer, full sized body wash, shampoo and conditioner that have been specially blended by C.O. Bigelow Apothecaries for the Kimpton Hotels.

This is also a pet friendly hotel and the manager’s adorable dog stays by the front desk. In the main lobby you will find bicycles to borrow if you choose to see the city that way, board games to play, fresh lemonade, iced tea and fruit infused water to sip on. The bar/dining area is quaint and has plenty of seating for your cocktails, and breakfast if you should choose to purchase any meals there. The manager hosts a wine hour from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. nightly in the foyer. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The only down side is the street noise if a concert lets out from TD Gardens or in the wee hours of the morning when the bars close. My suggestion would be to get a room as high up as you can.

Overall this hotel is a lovely place to stay and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The only down side is the street noise if a concert lets out from TD Gardens or in the wee hours of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Bridget H,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I really love your description of us as fun and funky :-)

It sounds like you were able to enjoy our wine hour and hope you had a chance to try our bicycles. Shadow, our Guest Services Manager's dog, is always around to say hi - looks like he met you as well!

I'm really sorry that you caught some street noise, we do our best to keep it from affecting our guests.

I hope you choose to come back to us in the future,

Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Had a great 3 day stay at the Onyx Hotel this Aug. I travel extensively and the entire staff gave me the best customer service in recent memory. Big up...Mike on the day desk, & incredible service from the night crew Roc & my man Yanni. They were all extremely courteous and not only met all my needs...they went out of their way to exceed expectations of service. Room is small but the beds was so super comfortable it didn't bother me. Shower power was appreciated. Free wine & Sangria w/finger food in the afternoon was a great touch. Good size TV w HD channels is also appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review Tantus B! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the shout outs!

Michal Penek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little boutique hotel! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very close to the TD Garden arena and train station. Good restaurants close by. Walking distance to many attractions.
My only "negative" comment would be that the room was on the smaller side but decent size for an urban hotel. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMcD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello JMcD1975,

It seems as though you had a good time while staying with us, thanks for posting!

Best,
Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing