We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onyx is right on”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

A perfect spot if you are in town for an event at the TD Garden.

We had one of the newly restyled rooms, very nicely done.

Save yourself some hassle and pay the Valet parking, it's worth the extra.

We did not join the crowd in the Ruby Lounge but it was a popular spot.

All staff were very friendly.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Thanks for the review Joe B! Hope to see you amongst our guests in the future!

Best,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Onyx Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Dava at the front desk was excellent and arranged for us to stay in the penthouse suite at no extra charge for two nights of our stay after we informed the front desk that the bathtub drain in our first room was not working properly. The penthouse suite was great: comfortable, clean, and spacious, with a beautiful view of the city. We will definitely stay at the Onyx again the next time we come to Boston.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thanks for the great review Amanda L!

Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

*sigh, I can't list them all; we'd be here until next Thursday. The staff at The Onyx has done it yet again! Dava, Mike, and Ken made us feel like we were at home from the start. In my last review, I stated that this would be our "go to place" when we weren't on Longwood for medical business. No longer true. This is the place we will stay at when we are in Boston. Period. Absolutely LOVE the citrus waters waiting to refresh the weary traveler. Got to stay on the 10th floor this time and in one of the new rooms. Still cozy, still very true to what The Onyx represents: classy, clean lines, contemporary boutique design and ultra comfy bedding and linens. We headed out to dinner and got back to the room only to find that, once again, Dava and the gang made sure to put our child first, and left her a wonderful surprise in the room with a personalized note from Ken. We hadn't been there in about 9 months for medical reasons thankfully, and didn't stop to fill out the questionnaire when we made our reservations, so our names could have blended in with 100's of other reservations. But it was as if we never left. They remembered our first names, remembered our preferences for dining from last time, remembered small little tidbits about us that totally made the stay THAT much more to us. The piece de resistance was of course TONEY. We didn't see him when we checked in, but evidently when my husband and daughter were getting on the elevator to come back up from breakfast (which is exceptional in both quality and pricing) he hopped on the same elevator and after a few seconds blurted out her name and said Welcome Back!!! She has a memory like a steel trap for names and remembered him right off. He remembered she was a medical patient and wished her well. 15 minutes later there's a knock at our door and there's Toney with a get well gift. The Kimpton Group really has an asset in the genuine nature of the employees at the Onyx. Granted, no hotel wants to be known for treating their guests terribly, but my goodness. There's acceptable, and then there's exceptional and Onyx staff has cornered the market for exceptional. We can't wait for our end of school get-a-way trip! Thank you again for another pleasant and memorable stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, obviously.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Hi Carrie F,

I don't even know where to begin! Thank you so very much for the amazing review and for the shout outs.

I hope we get a chance to see you again,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Recently I stayed outside my normal network of hotels and gave this Kimpton hotel a try.

I was very pleased at every aspect:
Great service
Great room decor
Great location

A bit pricey but most downtown hotels fall in that price range.

It was great to enjoy the wine event at 5pm and they gave a gift card for a $10 drink.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Pnieboer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Thank you so much for giving us a try Pnieboer2, I am so happy you were not disappointed!

Hope you come back to us soon,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Onyx Hotel was exactly what we were looking for. We were looking for a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable hotel that was close to TD Garden. Faneuil Hall and The Science Museum is just a stone's throw away which was a plus. The staff was very pleasant and they gave us some great suggestions on what to do in Boston with our kids. We weren't able to take advantage of the restaurant at the hotel because we were constantly on the move. I am not a big fan of the parking fees, but with limited parking in downtown Boston, it is totally understandable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Great to hear we fitted your needs Donte T!

Hope you enjoyed your time in Boston,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Onyx, great location with easy access to the subway system. If your attending for a Bruins or Celtics game this is the place to stay walking distance from the TD Gardens, literally took one minute to walk there. The rooms were nice and clean, the service was excellent and the complimentary wine between 5 and 6 p.m. was a nice touch.

We had a room facing Portland Street (the front of the hotel) and on both the Friday and Saturday night there was a lot of action and noise on the street due to the bars in the area.

The beds were very comfortable and a mini fridge is available in your room containing a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks however there is a cost associated with indulging. Snacks are also available in your room with associated costs as well.

The hotel does not allow any outdoor liquor to be brought in therefore should you be bringing any just keep it in your suitcase until you enter your room.

Overall, great experience and again ideal location for sporting fans.

Room Tip: Pick a room that does not face Portland Street, very loud on the street due to bars in the area
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc and Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Hello Luc and Marlene L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and that you made it to wine hour!

Hope to see you amongst our guests in the future,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I traveled her for work and the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were nice and modern and I got a nice note from one of the managers with free candy in my room. The rooms are small in size, and the views are not great, but this is pretty standard for Boston. They had a free wine reception as well. We ate breakfast there, it was a little expensive and not included but the lady serving it was very helpful. The only issues I had is it appeared they were moving in some rugs when I was there, and the lobby was full of construction workers moving heavy rugs and tying up the area. But we were there on a weekday so probably would not be having this on the weekend. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisannez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thank you for posting a review Lisannez!

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,064 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $187 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing