We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best Kimpton, but superior service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not the best Kimpton, but superior service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I have become fans of the Kimpton brands for the nice boutique hotels and outstanding service they provide. This location was no different. Upon arrival we found the road to the hotel was blocked due to construction. We called the front desk and they were nice enough to send the valet to rescue us.

Overall I don't think this hotels location was great unless you are planning to go to the TD Bank Garden which is a block away. The lobby was very blah compared to other Kimptons. When I stay in Boston again, I will probably switch back to the Nine Zero which I think has better location, views, and rooms.

Room Tip: If you become a Kimpton In Touch Member you can set a wide variety of preferences such as your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    460
    159
    60
    24
See reviews for
270
522
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ingonish, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife, two daughters and I spent Rememberance Day weekend there. The room was a bit small and the breakfast buffet a little over priced but everything else was great. We were close to T D Garden and went to see a Leafs game there. We were close to the subway and managed to travel all around town in one day, especially Little Italy.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 9th. floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a bin for refundables, this was all I could see for recycling everything else went to the garbage.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived very tired and flustered from a long flight and we were immediately welcomed by the competent reception staff at The Onyx. They were incredibly helpful, with directions and advice about events, restaurants and Boston in general. The location of the hotel is great - within walking distance of so many sights and neighbourhoods. The room was quiet and comfortable, but the second best place to be was in Ruby, the hotel's bar and restaurant. This is a brilliant little space in the foyer, with nice staff, really good food and a great ambience. Although I wasn't in need of it, the opportunity to have one's dog/s stay is a great idea and we were not troubled at all by barking or other noise. I highly recommend this hotel and the other Kimpton hotels we stayed at (The Muse and The Helix) while on this trip to the States.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

After reading the reviews had to note a few things. Stayed last winter for a Celtics game, fantastic location to that and all else Boston has to offer. Felt safe letting my teen kids head out and shop at Faneuil hall. Brought our dog, great customer service, had a bed for her and water and food dish ready in our room. Great valet service, AND they give you a great discount if you have a Hybrid car, which we did :) Staying again this week for business, and looking forward to using the gym down the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staci111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

What a great location and a fantastic hotel. We arrived on Monday morning around 0900 and were able to check into a room. The front desk staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The holtel is walking distance to pretty much most of the attractions and we only used the train 2ce (North Station is about 2 blocks away). We will definitely stay here again and I have already recommended it to our friends and family.
Rooms sort of small, but didn't spend much time in it. Clean, well appointed

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I am usually really happy with all Kimpton Hotels and this one was no exception. The staff is really great, friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great, especially if you are going to TD Garden!! The rooms are a tad small but very cozy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our first time at a Kimpton property provided mixed reviews. As they advertise, the hotel is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions and the "T"...which was our main objective. The staff was indeed very friendly and helpful. The downside was the size of the rooms...one of the smallest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. So, if you are like us, and use the room basically to sleep and wash up, it is a fine hotel. If you plan to spend any amount of leisure time in the room, you should probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street--the noise from the Boston Garden, around the corner, can preven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing