We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 28, 2013

One night stay in Boston, needed a hotel close to airport. Usually stay at the Marlowe in Cambridge, but gave the Onyx a try. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Penthouse floor. Large room and bath. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooncat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for the nice review, I am glad you enjoyed your time with us! We are always in a friendly competition with our sister properties, so thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Marlowe and hope you choose to come back to us next time too!

Best,
Michal Penek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad hotel for a night. Bar area is small but the staff is very friendly. A couple mistakes were made with food orders. Make sure you order about 45 minutes before you want your food to arrive. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coopsmom20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks for the feedback, especially regarding the food order mistakes. You are right about the food, it could take between half an hour to 45 minutes to receive food in your room.

Hope to see you amongst our guests soon,
Michal Penek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to Bar Harbor with our two dogs. The hotel is nice and the staff is really friendly. They were so nice to our two dogs. The rooms are a nice size and well taken care of. We loved our stay there. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks for the kind words lawgirl10! I am glad you had a great stay with us.

Best,
Michal Penek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I always stay in Kimpton hotels for business, and this one is not one of the best. The lobby and rooms are kind of boutique-y nice, but there's a lot under par. It strikes me by the halls as an older hotel not fully renovated. The walls are paper thin -- you can hear every room near by closing doors and using their bathrooms. The shower plumbing leaves something to be desired: shower was hard to turn on, and when I finally did, the whole wall shook. Water pressure was low, and water took a long time to heat up. Don't love the area/entrance/lobby ambiance (or lack thereof). They did bring a nice coffeemaker and all supplies when requested, and staff is very pleasant. But overall, would avoid staying here again.

Room Tip: 601 overlooks a brick wall and AC units - avoid it if you like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear NellaDawn,

It sounds like we missed the mark on this one. I know that our hallways look a little on the older side, however, I am happy to report that we are renovating all of our rooms and hallways in January and February of 2014, so we will still have our Onyx feel but with a brand new product.
We are also in the process of replacing all of our shower heads which will completely fix the water pressure issue you mentioned.
I hope that you choose to give us another try, and if you do, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Michal Penek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband, both sets of our parents, and I traveled to Boston from South Carolina last fall and stayed at the Onyx. We were thoroughly impressed with this hotel from the moment we arrived- the staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and full of helpful suggestions for our visit. After the concierge learned that we were in town for a football game, he showed up at our doors with maps, information on how to get to the game, and a bucket of beer! The hotel itself is very nicely furnished and modern. We also found that it was in a great location-just a quick walk to Faneuil Hall and all the great restaurants of the North End. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

So glad we were able to make you and your family feel comfortable! Sounds like the trip was a success and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best,
Michal Penek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not your typical hotel in terms of interior design. You feel like you are traveling abroad, but located in Boston. The hotel is right around the corner from Faneuil Hall. There is no parking so for a few extra buck I used the valet service and it made life easy and convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Jiveden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us Mr_Jiveden!

Michal Penek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed her for 2 nights while visiting Boston to see a Red Sox game. We took the "T" to the game which was fast, easy and only $2 each way.
This hotel is very dog friendly, they accept dogs of all sizes!!
The location is good, right next to the TD Garden and short walking distance to the USS constitution.
Our room was very nice and very modern. The only problem we had with the room was the shower. The pressure was extremely low. We mentioned it to the front desk, they said someone would come up and fix, but it was the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We do love dogs! And all animals! Glad you enjoyed our location, we do get a lot of guests that love where we are because of our proximity to TD Garden, the North End, Faneuil Hall and other key areas in Boston.
Sorry about the shower pressure - we did find since your comment that our shower heads are a bit too efficient on conserving water so we are currently in the process of replacing all our shower heads. Hope you get a chance to try the new ones out soon!

Sincerely,
Michal Penek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#20 of 84 in Boston
1,082 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,675 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $172 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing