We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Onyx. Had business near the North End and was able to walk there. Room is large, well appointed and very clean Street is quiet with enough places to get morning coffee. Fitness center is small, but all I needed was one cardio machine and it worked. Able to walk to all the restaurants in the North End and had a great dinner at Carmelinas and drinks/apps at Nebo another night. Both fantastic!

Hoping to come back and stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 812 was in the corner and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are walking distance to alot of places in Boston, but you can't beat being able to walk to the North End and get what seems like a home cooked meal. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    461
    159
    60
    24
See reviews for
272
522
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times and ea time was great. The location next to the td garden was perfect as we went to diff events there. the ruby room bar is a nice spot to have a few drinks. Walking to the north end and faneuil hall are both very convenient!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARY01453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Another happy guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Having spent 3 days in NYC at a very shabby hotel we were hoping Boston would be much better. We were not disappointed. Staff were so polite and helpful, they gave us directions to shopping places, recommendnation's for eating etc. Nathan & Joe in the bar were fantastic and it was a pleasure to sit chatting at the bar in a relaxed environment. Room was lovely and clean. No traffic noise. Upon check out they arranged the taxi and offered complimentary coffee to take with us. I would definitely return and couldn't of asked for better service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Boston is better than NY, at least in your words! :-) I will make sure that Nate & Joe are recognized for their great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Onyx hotel with friends. We booked two rooms. Check in was easy. The rooms were ready early (one couple was there early).The rooms were small for other chain hotels, but comfortable for two. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The bathroom was a bit dark. We were in a corner room on the 7th floor. We weren't bothered by the city noises but think our room was right by the staff closet. The noise in the morning was terrible (doors slamming, things banging into the walls, loud conversations between staff in the hallway). This was a disappointing for us as part of the joy of a day off and hotel stay is sleeping in late and sleeping was impossible with the noise. Our friends, in a room on another floor/location did not have the same issue. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The bar was ok for hanging out briefly and meeting up. The bartender had a few catch phrases that he said over and over and over again. it became humorous. The bartender mentioned that they are going to be doing some construction in the near future and expect the bar to be closed for a few weeks (I'm not sure when, but if this is important to you, you may want to check). The location was decent. Great for game at the TD Gardens. We walked the city. It is a long walk but not impossible walk to many area attractions. The valet parking is $45 per night. I think the lot is some distance away from the hotel. It takes about 30 minutes to get your car. They warn you of this when you check in. The staff is young, but very pleasant and helpful and friendly. The hotel appeared to be pet friendly (although we weren't traveling with a pet this time) with a dog bowl and sign welcoming the pet guests by name.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the service closets if you want to sleep in late. The 7th floor is the pet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Almost perfect...sorry about the noise. I will personally speak to the employees about this...not ok! We are excited about the potential changes in the Ruby Room, nothing finalized as of yet. Don't worry, we will let everyone know when it's happening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We love Kimpton hotels and have grown to expect funky and warm and cool all at the same time.
This was our first stay at the Onyx and are thrilled now to welcome it into our "go to" places when we are in yet another city.
The room was terrific and comortable and a good value. It is so good to have an alternative to the large anonymous hotel chains. Kimpton rocks with another personable and "easy" place to call home away from home.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lfmp48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I love being the "go to" hotel....we aim for service that's all about YOU, so thanks for pointing that out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I. LOVE. THIS. HOTEL. Boutique and trendy....plus a block from Canal St. and walking distance to the T, Garden...awesome spot to stay! $10 credit to the mini bar in our room - whom doesn't love that! Comfy bed and nice pillows as well. You can also have a goldfish as company in your room for the night if requested. We refrained but it was nice to walk to our hotel tipsy from Boston Beer Works. Next time we are back in the city I am sure we'll crash here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COGlobeTrotter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
AND. WE. LOVE. YOU. TOO! Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I just stayed for 2 nights at the Onyx in Boston. Typically I would book and some of the larger brand name hotel's (4-5 star) but I thought we could try something a little different with more of a boutique feel. I can tell you we were not disappointed. I stay at quite a few hotels and would come back to this one again if I were in Boston. The rooms are a little smaller than a typical chain but not an issue. They were well appointed and tastefully decorated. I think Boston is a walking city so exactly where your hotel is plays a big part. This is a great spot if you want to be close to the hockey/basketball action of the North End (Italian District). That being said, my wife and I walked the entire city from this hotel. Down to the commons, all through Newberry street, etc. So overall, great location. One last thing is that I was particularly impressed with the front desk staff at the hotel. Overall maybe a little younger than most hotels but in a good way. Their enthusiasm to help you was genuine. We had lots of sightseeing questions and some reservations for restaurants, and they were nothing but helpful (thanks to Dava and everyone else). Overall great experience at this hotel, especially for couples. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadacoast2coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am impressed you walked the whole city, very ambitious of you! Our staff is the best (I am biased i know) so thanks for pointing that out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing