We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is small -- only 100 rooms which means rooms are small and one restaurant/ bar w limited food selection and a small gym that had me go 8-9 blocks to a real gym they are affiliated with. Not very convenient.

Location is great hotel is a 5-6 out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Being "OK" is not what we are about...I wish our rooms and and fitness center were a little bigger, but space is at a premium in Boston, so I think we are pretty comparable to other downtown hotels. I do however understand your frustration...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    460
    159
    60
    24
See reviews for
267
522
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our first time in a Kimpton Hotel and we will look for them on future trips. The location was perfect; we spent considerable time in the North End. The staff was amazing. Every staff person we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The T stop was close and the desk staff provided a map and directions. We asked for the location of the nearest place to purchase an umbrella and a front desk staff person pulled two from a closet and handed them to us. When we asked them to provide directions to the bike tour we previously arranged, they provided coupons for the same tour. Coffee waiting in the morning, wine at 5PM. The room was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
WOW! When I read stuff like this, it makes me smile from ear to ear. I know the staff here takes pride in what they do, so it's always nice to see the great praise. THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Truly a hotel of trade-offs:
-Amazingly beautiful rooms but in a terrible back alley
-Very big flat screen, every movie costs an arm and a leg
-Really nice bar, rarely open, never busy
-Great treadmills, no weights

It's a good hotel, but man is it ever expensive. At $350 a night I expect more than a shady neighbourhood next to a shady bar, next to a shady club next to a shady Dominos pizza.

Upon first getting to Boston the cab driver had no clue where the hotel was (other cab drivers would have a similar problem). We get there and it is obvious it is a renovated hole in the wall, possibly looking to the future praying for gentrification. The meet and greet wasn't rude, or even unprofessional, but I knew something was off when the receptionist said "Hello and welcome to the Onyx Boston, weareherealladaythebarisopenmondaystofriday3:00to12:00saturdaysandsundays12:00to10:00iyouhaveanyquestions..." The door man was also off sometimes, he looked like he hated his life and was hungover to boot. One night I walked in and the concierge was sleeping LOL! It's like 4 stoners got together with a business idea. It's also just barely walking distance from everything, just close enough to brag that it is walking distance, but not close enough to actually considered walking places.

If this hotel was $250 a night, I would consider it again, but at over $300 no thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PukTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
This stings a little bit...who am I kidding, this is terrible. The staffing concerns you mention will be (and in some cases already have been) adressed by me personally. This sort of behavior is NOT ok at the Onyx and I really appreciate you bringing it to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from September 9-11, 2012. We had just gotten married and had booked a king room through Expedia. Upon arrival, there was no king room available that met our reservation. Do not book hotels through Expedia as they have no guarantee on a room!! After being very upset as this was our honeymoon, the hotel scrambled to find us a perfect room. Although it was very small, they found us a king bed. They moved us to a bigger room the next day. We were so grateful. To apologize, they gave us a bottle of wine. We took a day trip to P-Town and needed a backpack. Upon asking the front desk, one of the employees (Cameron) offered to let us use his as no stores were open. We were so happy!! They made our experience unforgettable. Although the reservation issue was not their problem (it was expedias) they still did everything to make it right.

Room Tip: Do not book through Expedia. The hotel told us that if we find a rate on Expedia, to call the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am so happy you chose to spend your honeymoon with us, that's awesome! CONGRATS on the big occasion! I had heard from Cameron about the backpack, glad you put it to good use! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Kimpton was great. The room was lovely, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the distance the hotel was from almost everything else! Joe the bartender was a superstar. The bar is a nice lively place to have a cocktail when you are on your way out. However it's a bit tight for the breakfast crowd. I love the fact that pets are welcome at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am a big fan of the cocktail on the way out the door, glad Joe at the Ruby Room took great care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was the first time me and my boyfriend were holidying together so wanted everything to be perfect and run smoothly.The hotel is only a 10-15 min taxi ride away and all the tourist attractions are only a short walk away,in fact,Fenway Park is only a 25 minute stroll (you'll want to take a slow walk around the commons) with this in mind Onyx Hotel is perfectly situated in Boston.The room prices are very reasonable,and the lady at the check in desk made sure we were on the top floor,as onyx is on a one way street we were expecting to hear a bit of traffic,but for the whole ten days we stopped we heard nothing,every night was peaceful.The rooms were cleaned everyday and the cleaners were all polite,wishing us a good morning/afternoon when we saw them,and the same for all the check in staff.Our flight out wasn't due till 7 in the evening and check out is noon (which I though was very good) with this in mind I asked the check in staff if it was ok to keep hold of our suitcases so we could have a last look around Boston before we had to make it to the airport and they said it was no problem, :D perfect for us to pick up some more souvenirs.All in all our stay at the Onyx was perfect and I couldn't recommend it more highly for anyone wanting to visit Boston.

Room Tip: The higher you stay the quieter it is :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hard to argue with perfection ;-)! So I will just re-read this review over and over again because it puts a smile on my face every time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We try and stay at a Kimpton whenever we travel, as I think they are exceptional. Spent the weekend in Boston booked the Onyx. Decor, ambiance, and staff were exceptional as always, however I was very disappointed in the room. Paying almost $300/night, room was tiny and cramped, with poor lighting. Even more so in the bathroom, lighting was non existent, no room for personal belongings, and NO EXHAUST FAN........I know it is located in the middle of the city, and space is at a premium, but I can honestly say I will not be returning there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
This one stings a little bit, but as always I appreciate the feedback. We are always looking to improve and this helps us get there, so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Jetsetter and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing