We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Boston”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was the first time me and my boyfriend were holidying together so wanted everything to be perfect and run smoothly.The hotel is only a 10-15 min taxi ride away and all the tourist attractions are only a short walk away,in fact,Fenway Park is only a 25 minute stroll (you'll want to take a slow walk around the commons) with this in mind Onyx Hotel is perfectly situated in Boston.The room prices are very reasonable,and the lady at the check in desk made sure we were on the top floor,as onyx is on a one way street we were expecting to hear a bit of traffic,but for the whole ten days we stopped we heard nothing,every night was peaceful.The rooms were cleaned everyday and the cleaners were all polite,wishing us a good morning/afternoon when we saw them,and the same for all the check in staff.Our flight out wasn't due till 7 in the evening and check out is noon (which I though was very good) with this in mind I asked the check in staff if it was ok to keep hold of our suitcases so we could have a last look around Boston before we had to make it to the airport and they said it was no problem, :D perfect for us to pick up some more souvenirs.All in all our stay at the Onyx was perfect and I couldn't recommend it more highly for anyone wanting to visit Boston.

Room Tip: The higher you stay the quieter it is :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hard to argue with perfection ;-)! So I will just re-read this review over and over again because it puts a smile on my face every time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We try and stay at a Kimpton whenever we travel, as I think they are exceptional. Spent the weekend in Boston booked the Onyx. Decor, ambiance, and staff were exceptional as always, however I was very disappointed in the room. Paying almost $300/night, room was tiny and cramped, with poor lighting. Even more so in the bathroom, lighting was non existent, no room for personal belongings, and NO EXHAUST FAN........I know it is located in the middle of the city, and space is at a premium, but I can honestly say I will not be returning there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

This one stings a little bit, but as always I appreciate the feedback. We are always looking to improve and this helps us get there, so thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just like every Kimpton I've stayed customer service is the best. Special thanks to Paulos in the front who pulled my car from the garage so I didn't get hot for an extra charge. Zowie and Patrick at the desk who did the best they could do tracking down a wine bar that's open for lunch.
Room was great small but well designed and makes a good use of the space. Everything was super clean...sheets soft by hotel stardards.
This one is smaller than other lomptons we've stayed at but it was still very nice. Lobby not as impressive as some but hey, you're not sleeping in the lobby.
Also, thanks for the comp 1/2 bottle of wine. I'm not all that important as I usually travel for pleasure, but if that's a perk for being a FREE untouched member than good for me!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heardinggroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We prefer "InTouch" members not "untouched" members, but we get your point :) Nothing makes us happier than giving a little surpise to our most loyal "lompton", I mean, Kimpton guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Been coming to the Onyx for several years and the staff is why I keep coming back. Had an issue with parking and John and his team made a bad situtation great. Kimpton has great hotels but the key is the staffing! Thank you John and the entire staff at the Onyx for another great stay!

Room Tip: Small hotel so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We can teach people how to check you in, but we can't teach them to be nice and John is one of the nicest people we've got! Thanks for giving him the shout out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having an event to attend to at the TD Garden and an early flight out of Logan the next morning, this was a great location. The hotel is tucked away on a side street but the staff was pleasant and the room comfy. The area lacks some of the life you'd get at other Bosotn hotels, but for where I was going, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

"It's a Kimpton, so you know what you are getting"....awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I spent a week in Boston and stayed at the Onyx because of its location. It was only blocks from where I needed to be on my business trip. I have to say that from now on it will be my Boston Hotel of choice! I was greeted by the most pleasant young lady I have ever met (thank you Zoe) and was assisted throughout the week by a staff that is top notch (thank you John). I was left asking myself: Where do they find these people?

The hotel itself is two blocks from the JFK building in one direction and The Garden in the other. It is just a 4 minute walk to the Fanueil Hall market area. The location is perfect.

What can I say about the room? It is exactly what I would expect at a Kimpton Hotel. Eccelectic yet classy and extremely comfortable. I opted for feather pillows and had no fewer than five on my king-sized bed. The room was well appointed and was kept immaculately clean by the staff. The lounge chair was very nice and I spent a little time next to the window reading. I also appreciated the complimentary wine bar every day at 5. What a great bonus! There are plenty of restaurants nearby, so the biggest worry for dinner was "which one do we pick?"

No more Hilton or Marriott for me ... this is my fourth stay in a Kimpton hotel (in four different cities) and I am absolutely hooked.

You will not be disappointed with your stay at The Onyx!

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor (the top floor) and was well above most the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurfinGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

WOW! I am blown away by this. Thank you for staying with us and your continued loyalty. It's guests like you that make us love what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The staff at the Onyx Hotel were very accommodating, friendly, and welcoming. We were able to check in 3 hours early, they furnished our room with lots of things we may have forgotten and of course the free wine night was excellent. Free Wi-fi at a hotel, not usually the case, was a great added bonus. Rooms were small but clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Everyone loves a little free wine reception and free Wifi! Available at all of our hotels, but for the WiFi make sure you sign up for our guest loyalty program!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,085 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,681 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $174 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing