We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Onyx In Boston is an EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Review of Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newjersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Onyx In Boston is an EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I come here anytime I go to a bruins game as the hotel is basically accross the street and just 2 short blocks from the t line. Lauren Weir who emailed me before my arrival was very nice and went out of her way to make me feel welcome. IN fact I mentioned to her how much I enjoy diet coke and she sent some up to my room no charge which was appreciated and came out of the blue. This hotel cares about their guests as I have stayed there often over the past few years since i discovered it online.

Room Tip: Look for deals right from the kimpton hotels own web site as they often have deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
THANK YOU for your loyalty to Kimpton! We can't wait to welcome you back at the Onyx or any one of our hotels.

Thanks,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    470
    161
    61
    24
See reviews for
282
529
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I am a fan of the Kimpton hotels, and Onyx is no exception. Their service is impeccable. I received an email before my trip asking if I needed anything to make the stay better and if I was celebrating something. It was my birthday, so I let them know. When me and my boyfriend arrived, there was a bucket with beer (6 bottles!) on ice and pretzels (they asked me beforehand what was my favorite drink and snack). It was a really pleasant surprise. I was expecting maybe a bottle of a nice brew and a tiny pack of something, after all we were staying for a weekend only! This was a really nice touch.

Staff is very knowledgeable about the area and attractions, and are able to instruct you on places to eat and go out around the hotel.
It's location is amazing, only three blocks from a subway station, and a short walk (five minutes, if so) from Quincy Market, the wharf and all the attractions there. Also not far for Boston Common. We did most of our sightseeing walking, and the Freedom trail passes a few blocks from the hotel, which allowed us to stop by in the middle of it and relax a bit before continuing!

Room was wonderful, and very reasonably-sized, with a king-size bed and a bathroom that was much bigger than what I usually see. Everything was spotless and the fact that they can provide you with any toiletries that you may forget is also a plus.
Also, you get free internet, and if you're a Kimpton hotel member (it's free), you get $10 for the minibar.
I have no complaint whatsoever. Well, perhaps that I wish Kimpton would expand outside the US!

It's not the cheapest, but it's certainly the best you get in this price range.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
I am thrilled we could help make your birthday even better!! We really try to make our guests feel at home, so I am glad that we were able to do that with you. I agree with you, we need hotels outside the U.S....hopefully someday soon (and warm!)!

Thanks,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great location beside the Garden, two blocks from North Station T-stop and a five minute walk to Faneuil Hall, North End, or Beacon Hill area. Beds are comfortable with lots of pillows. Lots of extra touches to make it a great stay- free wine hour, robes, free internet with kimpton loyalty program- all added to the experience. We booked the Onyx because of a deal on their website. If you can get this hotel for a good rate, it is definitely worth it! Parking is too expensive, but if you can find a cheap place to park outside the city and take the T or train into North Station, you will save some money. Rooms are a bit smaller, but comfortable, and if you are visiting Boston you probably won't spend much time in your room. The only complaint I'd have is that it can be a little noisy- on a Saturday night around 2am we could hear a few people yelling in the street outside the bars, and you can hear vehicles going by sometimes. Staff is very attentive and friendly. Great place to stay- will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineTraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Great review, I appreciate it! I am glad you found our hotel to be of great value and that the staff was able to take care of all of your needs. Additionally, I am sorry that the "urban rythyms" of the local neighborhood made their way into your room. Please reach out to me directly prior to your next visit and I will arrange for the quietest room for you.

Thanks,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Came to town for a conference and stayed for first time at the Onyx. Desk staff were great - enthusiastic and accommodating. Rooms were eclectic and bright. Freebies of being a Kimpton frequent user were great. Not sure about the leopard print bathrobe but quirky is part of the charm :)

Room Tip: Higher floor might avoid street noise as it is near the Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravCT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Believe it or not those leopard print robes are pretty popular. I can't tell you how many times we've had guests show up in the lobby with them. You are right, they are quirky but that's makes us fun!

Thanks for the great review!

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked for a one night stay to take in a Bruins game in Boston. Location couldn't be more convenient to the Garden. Hotel is older but very quaint and cozy. Rooms are on the smaller side but perfect for our purposes.
Only complaint was that they didn't have free internet access. In this day and age a must! Come on Kimpton- time to modernize! Free internet would lead to a 5 star review!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
If we were any closer to the Garden, we'd probably distrupt practice! Thank you for the great feedback! One note about the internet access, it is great benefit of our guest loyalty program Kimpton InTouch. There is no cost to join and you get free internet (along with some other cool benefits too!)

We hope to have you back soon!

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

First time in Boston and a very warm welcome from the front desk staff (one Lauren, before we met the other the next morning!). Small room but nice decor etc, including very comfy bed. Evening wine hour is always nice, and staff gave some good recommendations on getting around. We discovered how small Boston is and were able to walk around easily. Nice pub next door too.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BessAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
I'm glad what were able to help make your first trip to Boston enjoyable, hopefully it won't be your last! Walking in Boston is definitely the way to go, but next time you may want to think about biking too (just don't drive here!)

Thanks,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

All the amenities I needed were there, the bed was super, the desk staff very friendly (and I overheard them giving very solid restaurant recommendations to another guest), the location is great (especially if going to the Garden), the subway is nearby, the decor was fine, BUT the bed, desk, etc. was crammed in to way too little space. It cost too much money to stay in what felt like a large closet. Perhaps other rooms in the same category are bigger; I wish I had checked as soon as I saw our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHungry47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Kimpton Onyx Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
I love all guest feedback, the good and the bad. So let's start with the "good"....amenities, bed and staff were top notch, so thank you for sharing that! Your "bad" was the size the room and I completely understand. Although we physically can't increase the size of our rooms, we can take a look to make sure that the items we have in the rooms are placed in a way that is not "crammed in." I promise to add this to my "to do" list!

Thanks,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,029 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,577 reviews
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Onyx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Onyx Hotel

Property: Kimpton Onyx Hotel
Address: 155 Portland St, Boston, MA 02114-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Onyx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Onyx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing