We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The College Club of Boston
Ranked #11 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude People”
Reviewed December 6, 2006

This hotel is a big house rather than a hotel. When I arrived I asked a couple of questions to the girl with the long dark hair and it was such an effort for her to be polite to me.

I got to my room and I had a single bed and the room had rackety furniture, but the bed was comfortable. The Club uses the 1st floor function rooms for parties and 3 out of the 5 nights I stayed there were functions. 2 of the 3 were big parties. This would be ok, but there is no blocking off the noise and the walls are very thin. The guy who runs the place is rude. When I complained about the noise (and I love a party, but if I knew there were functions held everynight just below my floor I never would have booked the place), Don said he would send me to another hotel and from then on he was rude and arrogant. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HORRIBLE PLACE WITH THE HORRIBLE MAN.

Also, my room did not include private bath and the bathroom was at the other end of the floor AND the shower went stone cold when someone else put a tap on. The breakfast was toast or cereal.

Go somewhere else! You have been warned.

The only good thing I can say is that the location is excellent.

I am now staying in another city for similar price with lovely friendly staff so I can now compare and realise what a raw deal I had at the College Club.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Don
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebel_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    92
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
72
64
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

You can't ask for a better location or neighborhood: in a block of classic brownstones down from the Ritz Carlton Hotel and the well-kept pretty Boston Botanical Gardens, and around the corner from a fun and fashionable shopping and dining street. This accommodation is also close to the subway, and walking distance to many great and historic places. It is charming and convenient.

You also can't ask for a better front desk staff, at least while I was there. The regular person was on holiday, but the two men, Donald and the man who is usually the chef, were exceptionally helpful and informative. The free local phone calls and continental breakfast helped to keep my costs down. The breakfast room was also a decent space to read the newspaper, chat with other guests, have a late afternoon cup of tea or use the TV. It would be great if they added a computer for guest use.

However, some of the rooms are a great value, but some are not.

I stayed in three different rooms due to extending my stay and availability. The first was good value with the exception of noise from the alley. A couple of earplugs solved that issue. The European style bath down the hallway was not my first choice, but I never had to wait, even to use just the toilet. The bedroom, while cozy, was clean and nicely furnished with period furniture. I had just what I needed but no more.

The larger room, the next night, was a splendid surprise. It was huge and well-appointed, very nicely decorated, and had a large restroom. The marble fireplace was a nice centerpiece and there were two different sitting areas. I also appreciated the large number of lamps for reading in any part of the room. Little touches like a magazine file, wine glasses, and an ice bucket made it feel more like a hotel or BnB than the other room.

But my last night was back in a single room, which was not nearly as nice as the first single room. It had not been redecorated and refurbished. Also, the mattress did not fit in the bed frame and slipped to an angle in the middle of the night, which was quite disconcerting and uncomfortable. I would not have extended my stay if this had been my room for the first night.

I recommend you splurge for the larger rooms if possible. They are an excellent value for a major city like Boston and you will feel like you've had a more authentic experience than in a cookie cutter hotel. I would stay in a single room again only if I confirmed that it was one of the recently renovated rooms.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Solo-Sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

I have just spent six days in Boston at The College Club. I found this place to be amazing. It is not a contemporay accomodation and does not have TV's in bedrooms etc. But if you are after a clean, well presented and well thought out place to stay that does not cost you a fortune this is the pace to stay.
I was travelling alone and found that it was in a safe area within walking distance of all parts of Boston. Donald who appears to work at the guest inn 24/7 was great for advice and information. The College Club is furnished with antique furniture which adds character to the quite imposing Brownstone. All in all an excellent place to stay - I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elqueeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2005

When another guest checked in and labored up the stairs at the College Club (which can be an ordeal given height between floors in this once-grand establishment), she joked about how the broken elevator gave this hotel a true "European" feel.

Well, the elevator stayed broken for a couple of days instead of the "couple of hours" we were warned to expect, which was a bit of a nuisance. But that wasn't a deal-breaker. Neither was finding the modest Continental breakfast shut down ahead of schedule our first morning. Nor was the noise from the alley, heard through the single-pane window on our room. But these things, combined with a little deferred maintenance here and there (our fourth-floor room was not as well-maintained as the hotel's lobby and conference areas, which were nicer) added up to an experience that didn't quite meet expectations.

On the "plus" side, the College Club does have architectural charm. And its location a couple hundred yards from the Public Gardens, in the Back Bay is a real plus. The Gardens, Boston Common, Beacon Hill and plenty of restaurants and shopping were a 5-10 minute walk away. And when you're within walking distance of a "T" (subway) station in Boston, as is the College Club, then virtually all of the Boston/Cambridge area becomes accessible without a car, which is a great thing.

Our room was spacious. And prices at the College Club are reasonable for Boston lodging.

So there's a lot to recommend it, especially to those partial to old architecture and old buildings. But those expecting modern amenities may be disappointed. If I were to visit the College Club again (and it is not out of the question) I would inquire about a room fronting Commonwealth Avenue instead of the back alley, and I would ask if some rooms are better kept-up than the one I stayed in this year.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank SteveNearSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Quiet hotel with a great location in the Back Bay neighborhood. I came to town for one night for an interview and it was the perfect location witha reasonable price. My room was huge with great character. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2004

This place looks nice, even when you get there, but a closer look will say more. I was there mid-Sept and the floor was unswept under my bed, shower in not-so-great shape (ragged setup), no plug for the sink, bed that continously squeeks, paper garbage in the drawers of the desks, and loud traffic outside. There was also a door from my room to the next adjoining room which was not locked (they could have just walked in ...). The staff does make some effort to replace the sheets, clean in most areas, and do their "work" but there is a great need to increase the daily workload in this place and to make some very important repairs and upgrades (maybe raise prices / change management). And no, their wireless Internet does not work well throughout the building as it is very weak and drops out continuously unless you are in the main floor dining area - not for business travellers. Good for vacationers who need a cheap, clean, safe place.

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2004

This is a very nice B&B with a great location near downtown Boston. It could use a little updating, but the decor is otherwise amazing. They keep along with the feel of the early 1900's with antique furniture, and polished silver. The staff is very friendly and made my stay very enjoyable. The rates are very reasonable for what you get too!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,772 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,072 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,323 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Club of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Club of Boston

Property: The College Club of Boston
Address: 44 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02116-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The College Club of Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The College Club's eleven guest rooms offer Back Bay charm and personal comfort to visitors. Six rooms have decorative fireplaces and private baths, while the five single occupancy rooms have shared baths. Each room's decor is unique to the college it represents. Free wireless internet is available. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered daily. Located in Boston's historic Back Bay, The Club is within walking distance of the Freedom Trail, Theater District, Beacon Hill, Public Garden, and Copley Square. There are many excellent restaurants and shops all within walking distance of The College Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The College Club of Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Club Of Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing