We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique B&B with a philanthropic mission”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The College Club of Boston
Ranked #11 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was drawn to this B&B by the pic of the hall on its website. During my stay, the hall was not opened for any events. i did not have the chance to get a glimpse of the beautifully decorated event hall. The B&b is located in Backbay area-a safe district for females to walk alone in the evening. All the rooms are named after individual colleges & decorated by different interior designers. I did not particularly like the decor of my tufts room-too masculine in feel. Nonetheless, the B&B is unique in that it has a philanthropic mission. The college club awards scholarships to able & needy students. Great place to stay in & great chance to support needy students!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 260 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is, indeed, a hidden gem! Great neighborhood within two blocks of the pretty Public Garden, and within a block of great shops and restaurants. I had a single room with very high ceilings with a shared bath and it was cozy, had pretty antique furniture, including a desk, a small chest of drawers, a chair and a four-poster bed. Amenities included a hairdryer, an alarm clock and a CD player with music CDs provided, plus free wifi. The walls are very thick, so you don't hear anything from next door rooms. Everything was clean. The bathroom was very clean, white/grey marble, with strong shower. I never had any conflict with using the bathroom. The public rooms are limited and a little worn, but perfectly adequate. I don't know how the breakfast was as I didn't avail myself of it. The reception was basic and not overly friendly, but I only saw one person ever. The rest of the time I came and went without any sense that anyone worked there or manned the entrance, since you are given an entrance code upon check in. It makes you feel like it's more of a condo/hostel set up, which is fine. I would definitely recommend this place--and have already!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here one night in September with my daughter, and we both loved it. The location was just perfect. Easy to get to via public transportation from the airport, and a quick stroll through the gardens to Beacon Hill or the freedom Trail. We walked to the North End for dinner. After dinner we couldn't wait to get back to our charming room to hang out and read. Our room was large and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fine, and included. Wi-fi worked beautifully. It was a real perk to have home baked cookies in the afternoon, and hot water available for herbal tea before bed. There were several single women staying when we were there. The single rooms seem very nice and reasonable priced for the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainsoaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a club that also takes bed and breakfast visitors. The building is very grand and full of character, but a little faded and creaky here and there. We stayed twice during our last trip to the USA, and each time had a huge, high-ceilinged double room with its own en-suite bathroom. The decor is tasteful, if occasionally in need of some renovation, and the enormous hardwood staircase carries the portraits of leading Boston women of the past decades. Breakfast is a help-yourself continental affair; apart from the desk staff, there's often no-one around. Parking is a pain; we opted to drop off our bags, and then dump our rental vehicle in the huge underground car park ($28 a day) under Boston Common, which is a five-minute walk. Stay here if you want a little taste of 19th century Boston high living (with free wi-fi thrown in), and don't feel the need for room service, in-room TV, a car park, and all the other trappings of modern hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This is a great B&B right on the edge of the Public Garden in the Back Bay. It's a block from the Arlington T stop - which means that all of Boston is within walking distance. The double rooms are very spacious and furnished very well, but no TV in your room. The breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a real find. A beautiful old house in a lovely central Boston location beside the peoples' garden and Boston common and the quality shopping area of Boylston Street. The room was very big and the bed was King size and comfortable. Overall a beautiful place to stay and we will certainly go back there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel was more than adequate for me and the staff were very attentive and helpful I must say.

I left early so did not have time to take Bfast but by all accounts it looked okay.

The shared bathrooms were fine and in fact never saw or heard anyone else.

My only moan would be the noise as the hotel does not handle noise well but all I needed was a bed for 6 hrs so it suited me fine. Was in a single room so it is a bit tight and no TV so you pretty much need to know you are going to busy as you can't reall " chill" in the room!

But overall a good value for money option in a city that can run you comfortably $300 a night at around $150 this is a deal.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit tired and the mod cons( air con , phone etc etc) need work but they work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 85 in Boston
2,888 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 85 in Boston
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 85 in Boston
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Club of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Club of Boston

Address: 44 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02116-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $185 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The College Club of Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The College Club's eleven guest rooms offer Back Bay charm and personal comfort to visitors. Six rooms have decorative fireplaces and private baths, while the five single occupancy rooms have shared baths. Each room's decor is unique to the college it represents. Free wireless internet is available. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered daily. Located in Boston's historic Back Bay, The Club is within walking distance of the Freedom Trail, Theater District, Beacon Hill, Public Garden, and Copley Square. There are many excellent restaurants and shops all within walking distance of The College Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The College Club of Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Club Of Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing