We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The College Club of Boston
Ranked #10 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Nice, affordable”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I just stayed here and wanted to recommend to travellers. It was a nice location, right next to famous newbury street. It took me max 30 mins to arrive by subway from airport. I loved my room!! It was huge with private bathroom-/ some rooms share bathrooms. My room was enough for a family. Size was huge!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dj_ipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    90
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
72
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This B&B is geared more towards independent people who like to come and go. I loved just being able to wake up and do my own thing at breakfast. I arrived on thursday night late but I had the code to get in the house that had
been sent to me in an email. I never had any problems with the room; I had to share a bathroom but never had to wait. I would say that this place is best suited for single people or parties of two. If you require a lot of help or have questions this might not be the place for you. Ibwould totally come back and I highly recommend it.!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantravelercapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great, quiet location. Within 5 mins walk to Arlington Avenue (Red Line) Metro. Right down the Street from beautiful public garden. Lots of great restaurants close by. Check in process was quick. Provided with code to entrance for after hours access. Stayed in a single room and therefore shared bath. The room was well maintained. Not a lot of amenities (i.e., TV, minibar, fitness center - items you would find in hotel) but comfortable bed and lots of charm. How much time do you really spend in your room anyway? Bathroom always clean; never had to wait to use. Breakfast was good (coffee, tea, bagels, assorted breads, danish, hardboiled eggs, cereals and yogurt). Freshly baked cookies available during the day. You can store your luggage at the club after checkout and continue to enjoy the town of Boston. All in all the College Club was a great value at $99, $113 with tax. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: you can go to the club's website and see pics of rooms. when making reservation request specifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This charming, quiet B&B has to be one of the best-kept secrets in Boston. I stumbled upon reviews of the College Club of Boston while planning a recent business trip on a shoestring. I stayed for 4 nights in a single room with shared bath; there are only 2 such rooms per floor with one bathroom between them, and I never had to wait to take a shower or use the toilet. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable, with a lovely view of the Commonwealth Avenue Mall (not a shopping mall, but a lovely stretch of grassy, tree-lined walking paths). The location is less than a block from the Public Garden, and less than two blocks from Newbury Street shopping and the closest T stop on the Green Line. The College Club of Boston offers free wi-fi, free continental breakfast (pastries, bagels, juice, coffee, tea, hard-boiled eggs), and free fresh-baked cookies in the cozy dining room when it's not breakfast time. There is a drink machine available 24 hours a day that produces fresh coffee, espresso, cappuccino, cafe mocha, hot chocolate, vanilla steamed milk, decaf, and hot water at no charge. I loved coming back to the B&B after a long workday and having a fresh cookie and hot beverage upon my arrival.

Bathrobes are available upon request. There are no TVs in the rooms, which I appreciated. Guests were quiet and respectful, and the staff was discreet and accomodating--not in-your-face besequious, but readily available and helpful.

If you're looking for a clean, charming, quiet, comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable price in the fabulous and convenient Back Bay area, you can't do much better than the College Club of Boston. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellahelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is a real bostonian place: style, New England feeling. We stayed in the Vassar room, with a private bathroom. A designer work. You feel hundred yeasr ago, with today comfort. walking distance for everywhere. Close to the Public Garden, good breakfast. What else?

Room Tip: The Vassar, stylish, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Central to everything. Double room we stayed in was large and well appointed. Breakfast was very good, and staff very helpful

Could have used a second rack on which to put our luggage and bed was a bit soft, but otherwise, this was a great place to stay while in Boston.

Room Tip: For view of park, ask for room facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munsterlander23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Traditional rooms beautifully renovated, with real New England charm. Free wifi is a real bonus. My favourite place to stay in Boston. The lack of a restaurant or bar is a non-issue as there are dozens a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Confido13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,903 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,678 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Club of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Club of Boston

Property: The College Club of Boston
Address: 44 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02116-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The College Club of Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The College Club's eleven guest rooms offer Back Bay charm and personal comfort to visitors. Six rooms have decorative fireplaces and private baths, while the five single occupancy rooms have shared baths. Each room's decor is unique to the college it represents. Free wireless internet is available. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered daily. Located in Boston's historic Back Bay, The Club is within walking distance of the Freedom Trail, Theater District, Beacon Hill, Public Garden, and Copley Square. There are many excellent restaurants and shops all within walking distance of The College Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelPower, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The College Club of Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Club Of Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing