We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City area
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hated it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

First of all, this hotel is NOT in Boston...it is across a long bridge, or weird pedestrian connection, from Boston. YES it is on the Freedom Trail, at the extreme end of it. Yes, it is on the water, very pretty. However, it is extremely inconvenient to anything else. While there are a couple of dining options nearby (and walking around Charlestown, whcih is where it REALLY is, is charming), the hotel does nothing to direct visitors to them. In fact the staff of the hotel seems to do nothing period. There were kids running through halls, taking over exercise facility, etc. I saw at least four guests complain to front desk, who made no response at all. I have stayed at many Marriott facilities but this was one of the worst. We actually stayed here for "free" (except for $32 a night parking charge) and I still feel like it was a lousy value. Walls are also like paper, could here kids crying all night, and living room of one bedroom "sutie" was so narrow that once our son lowered the sofabed he could not move at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrett, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
On behalf of the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, I would like to apologize for your disappointing stay. I assure you that this certainly does not represent a typical experience here at our property. It can be a delicate balance but we pride ourselves on making each and every guest feel that their needs have been met and hopefully exceeded. I will research exactly the details of your stay to make sure this does not happen in the future. Your comments mean a great deal to the hotel and to me personally, and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Tim Brett, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    278
    68
    19
    6
See reviews for
324
221
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn on Tudor Wharf for our anniversary over Memorial Day weekend. When we arrived and checked in, I knew we were in the right place. The woman at the desk was lovely, checked our reservation and said she was putting us in her favorite room in the hotel! The mini suite was beautiful and had windows on two sides,which offered stunning views of the Harbor and the skyline of the North End. The hotel staff were helpful, they recommended a restaurant where the 'locals' eat as opposed to the more 'touristy' places, even called us a cab. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and Boston itself was awesome. We would definitely go back, and would absolutely stay in this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada (YOW)
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hotel is very nice. Location is excellent for tourists being right on several hop-on-hop-off trolley lines. Spacious rooms -- we were upgraded to a suite on a reward stay, perhaps owing to my modest Marriott status. Breakfast was very crowded on both Sun and Mon, try to go early.

USe the public parking for $20/day, but be warned it is cash only.

Max and Dylans restaurant around the corner is a great place, for kids and adults.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat13F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Great location, with a wonderful view of the city and a short walk to the Charlestown Naval Yards ("Old Ironsides") and to the North End of Boston and all of the good places there. Don't use the $32 a day valet parking, because there is a lot close to the hotel for $20 a day, also the only unpleasant staff person at the hotel was the valet. The breakfast was better than the usual Residence Inn fare and it varied each day. The room was spacious and up to the Marriott standards. Lisa at the front desk was extremely helpful and gave us tips on where to eat and how to get around. There is a nice pool and hot tub. We would highly recommend this hotel because of its staff and the great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

liked the area very much hotel was very friendly rooms are fine a bit basic but id go again, pool was very warm hottub well too hot and i like hot baths, very slippy around pool needs new tiling id say, max and dylans food very nice shame there is no bar in the hotel but il return when going back to boston, breakfast was yummy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed 4 nights... Easy to get to anywhere, with quick scenic walk across bridge to North End, and if needed, North Subway Station. Breakfasts are great, rooms are large, staff is friendly and helpful. A real find is Max and Dylan's, just a few steps from the front door...great food and open late.

We walked almost everywhere (with our 11 yo grandson and 8.5 yo grand-daughter) including the Children's Museum. This is a fine location for those who want the hassel free breakfast and a 2 or 3 room suite....We will return here next trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed in May 2010 and found most hotels in Boston city center very expensive as it was graduation week. This hotel is a short walk (15-20 mins) out from the centre but this did not bother us. The location is close to the USS Constitution, Bunker Hill Monument and is right on the Freedom Trail. We used the hop on and off trolley to get us around as there was an offer if bought one day you got another day free. There are a few places to eat near by. We had a room with a seperate lounge and a kitchenette, the staff we very helpful and even remembered our names. Breakfast buffet is free and covers most foods from healthy to not so healthy. There was a small gym and pool but as the hotel is on the harbour walk we went for a run as it was more enjoyable. There is a great pub the Warren Taven 5-10 minute walk, very sociable and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeLittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing