We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hotel is very nice. Location is excellent for tourists being right on several hop-on-hop-off trolley lines. Spacious rooms -- we were upgraded to a suite on a reward stay, perhaps owing to my modest Marriott status. Breakfast was very crowded on both Sun and Mon, try to go early.

USe the public parking for $20/day, but be warned it is cash only.

Max and Dylans restaurant around the corner is a great place, for kids and adults.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat13F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 871 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

Great location, with a wonderful view of the city and a short walk to the Charlestown Naval Yards ("Old Ironsides") and to the North End of Boston and all of the good places there. Don't use the $32 a day valet parking, because there is a lot close to the hotel for $20 a day, also the only unpleasant staff person at the hotel was the valet. The breakfast was better than the usual Residence Inn fare and it varied each day. The room was spacious and up to the Marriott standards. Lisa at the front desk was extremely helpful and gave us tips on where to eat and how to get around. There is a nice pool and hot tub. We would highly recommend this hotel because of its staff and the great location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

liked the area very much hotel was very friendly rooms are fine a bit basic but id go again, pool was very warm hottub well too hot and i like hot baths, very slippy around pool needs new tiling id say, max and dylans food very nice shame there is no bar in the hotel but il return when going back to boston, breakfast was yummy

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed 4 nights... Easy to get to anywhere, with quick scenic walk across bridge to North End, and if needed, North Subway Station. Breakfasts are great, rooms are large, staff is friendly and helpful. A real find is Max and Dylan's, just a few steps from the front door...great food and open late.

We walked almost everywhere (with our 11 yo grandson and 8.5 yo grand-daughter) including the Children's Museum. This is a fine location for those who want the hassel free breakfast and a 2 or 3 room suite....We will return here next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed in May 2010 and found most hotels in Boston city center very expensive as it was graduation week. This hotel is a short walk (15-20 mins) out from the centre but this did not bother us. The location is close to the USS Constitution, Bunker Hill Monument and is right on the Freedom Trail. We used the hop on and off trolley to get us around as there was an offer if bought one day you got another day free. There are a few places to eat near by. We had a room with a seperate lounge and a kitchenette, the staff we very helpful and even remembered our names. Breakfast buffet is free and covers most foods from healthy to not so healthy. There was a small gym and pool but as the hotel is on the harbour walk we went for a run as it was more enjoyable. There is a great pub the Warren Taven 5-10 minute walk, very sociable and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeLittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I've stayed at Residence Inn's across the country. This one is average compared to others. For a short Boston visit its not bad. But long term there's not enough options around it compared to the nearby competition. With just a handful of dining options unless you walk across a bridge to the Boston side it's not the best location for more than a couple of days.

The breakfast was good. The night time service was cheese, crackers and nothing hot. At least on a Wednesday evening. But I've stayed at Residence Inn's where every offered meal was a meal. Not cold finger foods.

The staff however was excellent and accommodating
.
In summary don't let the appearance of the wharf location fool you. This is an older Residence Inn. There's other hotels in more advantageous location in Boston that offer better options all around.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel is right on the Freedom Trail making it easy to get around. It's on the Charlestown side so its a bit of a hike from downtown Boston. If you have any exercise under your belt and good shoes, the walk should be easy. The North End section of the city is under a mile with tons of restaurants. This hotel is close to a tour bus stop and the water taxis...no car is needed once you get there. that's a good thing because the hotel charges $30 a day for parking and parking in the city is crazy.
Our room was a double bedroom with a living room. It was a great deal and the beds were so comfortable. To give you an idea, I found out my father died while I was on this trip...we had to wait until the next day to leave for our flight. I slept much better there than now when I'm home!
Our room overlooked the harbor with a boat dock and Boston. During the day, the boats were peaceful and at night, the Boston skyline looked wonderful. Yes, we could even see the Old North Church spire from our window.
Breakfast was delicious...eggs, sausage, waffles, croissants, biscuits, etc. And the usual continental spread too. We left stuffed and could put off lunch even after walking all morning. The staff was really on the ball too.
We had a kitchen in the room and its convenient...except we had no baking sheet. So it was hard to reheat food (I have 3 little boys). So I called down and they claimed they had no baking sheets in the whole hotel. huh. So someone brought up 1 sheet of aluminum foil. I found it hilarious that they wouldn't trust us with the roll!
While on the Freedom Trail, there aren't a huge number of restaurants close. We hit everyone in our three day trip and had to make a bit of a march to find anything new. There is an AWESOME ice cream place (Emack and Bolio's) less than a block away.
For those of you with kids, there's a cute playground less than a block away. Just walk behind the hotel and there it is. Clean, convenient with picnic tables too. I wished they had told me about it when I checked it. I saw it as we passed over the bridge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,065 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 84 in Boston
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $205 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing