We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly staff.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location right on the Freedom Trail, next to the USS Constitution and just a short walk over the Charlestown Bridge to TD Garden and the great Italian restaurants on the North End. Great place for morning jog or walk, along the wharf or up to Bunker Hill. Staff was friendly, good breakfast buffet was very convenient. King beds were comfortable and rooms were clean, a little dated in decor but worked fine for my family. Free wi-fi was also a bonus for my teenage kids. Next time in Boston I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2020eliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your family at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf and we genuinely appreciate your kind comments regarding our property and staff. We’re especially pleased to learn that our complimentary wireless Internet was a favorite amenity for your children. We’re happy that you will be returning to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    284
    71
    21
    9
See reviews for
339
227
35
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Boston can be a challenging place to find accommodation based on an individuals particular requirements. I was looking for someplace that was quiet, close to great history, comfortable and clean. I found all of the above here.

While I had first considered a place downtown, I was glad I had chosen the Residence Inn on Tudor Wharf for the simple fact that in many locations in the downtown core, I could feel the occasional big rumble coming from the various underground transit systems. This was not felt at the Residence Inn at all. This fact is evident in many other TripAdvisor reviews from other hotels in the core.

I'll summarize by saying that its a great location for those who like to run and walk. Its an easy walk across the bridge to all the great history and running on Bunker Hill in the early morning was a great experience!

As I am a firefighter, I must point out that a factory burnt down on this spot in 1994 (June 24th) and Boston Fire Lieutenant Stephen F. Minehan (ladder 15) was killed in action while trying to locate some brothers who were missing and low on air. There is a small memorial in his name located on the Charlestown High Bridge beside the wharf and the hotel has dedicated a meeting room in honor of the Ladder 15 Lieutenant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It’s truly wonderful to learn of your experience with us here at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. We couldn’t be happier to learn that our location worked out so perfectly for your stay. We greatly appreciate that you've taken the time to share your feedback and heroic story of the Boston Fire Lieutenant. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It isn't often that the staff of a hotel extends itself to make your experience perfect. When we arrived the room we had reserved was not available. Within fifteen minutes Lisa Soares the person who had receive us was calling us on our cell phone to let us know everything was all set. She had placed us in a suite that was quiet and had a great view. The breakfast the next morning was superb...fresh, hot and delicious All in all, attention was paid to every detail at this hotel and the stay was flawless. The staff at the hotel is the best! If you are looking for a place to stay in Boston, choose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleni09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as we couldn't be happier to learn that our team was able to make your experience here so memorable. We are always excited to learn when we can exceed our guests' expectations and your positive and glowing remarks are truly appreciated. We hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in Boston and one of the highlights of our trip was definitely our stay at the Residence Inn! The one bedroom suites were nicely done, spacious, comfortable and clean, we had a nice harbor view as well. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well as the gym. The breakfast was yummy with enough variety to more than satisfy...loved the make your own waffles! The location was ideal. Enjoyed being in Charlestown and it was only a short walk to the North End, Quincy Market, Faneuil Hall, etc. But honestly, what makes this hotel fabulous is the employees! We have stayed at many hotels over the years and have never come across a more superiour staff. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. They really went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay not only in the hotel but in Boston itself. V and Angel were great and Dottie was an absolute STAR!! From the moment she checked us in, we felt at home. Dining recommendations, points of interest, directions, etc. were all great. Without a doubt, I would stay at the Residence Inn again on my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We’re delighted to learn that your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf was one of the highlights of your Boston visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and acknowledge the continuous efforts of our dedicated staff. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We love this Residence Inn due to it's location which is an easy walk to the North End, Charlestown, and sports events at the Garden. We've stayed there at least 3 times and the view from our suite has always been exceptional. Service is friendly and the staff is great.... eager to help, professional and quick to offer suggestions that make your visit even better. Suites are clean and breakfast, although usually crowded because we've been on weekends, has plenty of food and a nice selection. Parking options are very good for a city hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npt_traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It’s always heartening to read positive feedback, especially from our return guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent visit with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. We are delighted that we continue to meet your expectations and truly appreciate your heartwarming comments. We hope you’ll continue to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have to say, having traveled far and wide it is rare to find a hotel with a staff as generous and accommodating as the one Residence Inn on Tudor Wharf. After traveling all day with my parents and fiance, we ended up coming (on accident/due to a getting lost via google maps) after booking at a different Residence Inn a little outside of Boston. They were beyond helpful and immediately switched our reservation over and also made sure we could catch the free shuttle to the airport tomorrow.

The rooms were beautiful and the views are unparalleled. Loved our night at the Residence Inn Boston Harbor and will definitely be back next time were in town!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellybelly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We’re glad you found your way to our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. It's always encouraging to read such lovely comments regarding our staff and we're looking forward to sharing them with our team. Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf and we can't wait to welcome you back the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Three of us stayed here for PAX East in 2013. If you came to this review because you're considering it for PAX, then I'll assume you did what I did, which was wait too long to grab a hotel closer to the BCEC ;) Yes, it is a bit of a hike to the center in March (could be walkable in nice weather). We had to walk across the Charlestown bridge to North Station, take the green line to Park St, transfer to the red line to South Station. From this point you can walk (a little less than a mile) or get to the silver line (buses) and take that two stops. It sounds like a lot, and I guess it is considering how exhausting PAX can be. A 7-day Charlie card costs $18, you get unlimited rides with that. A cab ride cost us about $12 without tip so you have that option too (the hotel has no shuttle to the BCEC).

Onto the hotel itself, we all loved staying there. The room was impressive, and the kitchenette with a full-size fridge was lovely. I wish we had time to actually use it (we left early in the day and came back late at night). The pillows were AMAZING. I'd sleep in a little bit while someone else would take a shower and just put the pillow over my head... it drowned out any noise. I need to remember to call them and ask the brand.

If I had to pick my least favorite part, it'd be the bathroom... only because I like to have the sink and mirror in the same room as the toilet and shower. But I can totally appreciate it being outside, giving other people the chance to get ready while you're in the shower.

Ah I actually just remembered my real least favorite part! The room had no dresser! I found that very odd. So the closet was your only clothing storage option; other than that you had to live out of your bags.

The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. When one member of my party requested fresh towels late at night, someone came to our door promptly.

The location was fine. There's a building across from the hotel that you have to walk pass to get to North Station. It has a restaurant called Max & Dylan's that was pretty good. There's also an ice cream shop and a coffee shop but we didn't have the chance to try either.

Finally, my absolute favorite part, which echoes many reviews here... BREAKFAST. Oh man. I wouldn't even compare this to other hotel breakfasts, this rivals breakfasts you'd get at an actual restaurant. I went at a few different times (including up to almost closing) and everything was always stocked and fresh. They had a few staff members who were so friendly and made sure you had everything need. Everything was spread out so that even with a full dining room, you could get to food quickly. The four hot options changed everyday, from plain scrambled eggs to DELICIOUS sausage patties to potatoes and peppers to eggs benedict! There was always make-yourself-waffles, pastries, breads, oatmeal, granola, fruits, yogurts, and various beverages.

Next year for PAX we'll definitely try to stay somewhere closer, but if we were to go to Boston for any other reason, I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
No matter the circumstance, we're thrilled that you found your way to our hotel. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during the event and we thank for reaching and sharing the highlights of your trip. We're most pleased to learn that you enjoyed our pillows and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. If you’ll visit us online at Shop Marriott you’ll find that our luxury bedding is available for purchase! We're always grateful when a guest takes the time to share a thorough review, as it gives us the opportunity to gain a clear perspective of your time here. We hope any inconveniences that you experienced were minimal and we thank you for your feedback regarding our accommodations. We're glad that we had the opportunity to welcome you to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. The next time you are in the area, we hope you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing