We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York State
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in late December for family holiday visit to Boston. Great location. I was sceptical about the walk to the North End across the Charlestown Bridge, but it turned out to be no big deal, even in the snow. And there were lots of people doing it, even at night. And being in easy walking distance of Quincy Market, the North End, and the downtown stores was a bonus. During our three-day visit, we never used the car or the subway.

The hotel was what you would expect from a Residence Inn: rooms were clean and good sized. Hotel services were good, inlcluding a small fitness center that like everything else in this property has a great view of the skyline and the water. We had a two-bedroom suite for our family of four including two older teenagers and it met our needs really well, especially the two bathrooms. Desk staff was very helpful and recommended a great North End restaurant for dinner. And did I mention the views? We could see the water and the masts of Old Ironsides from our room and even the windows in the corridors had spectacular views of the city. We were very glad we picked this property for our holiday visit to Boston and had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgestayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
December is a wonderful time to plan a trip to Boston and enjoy all of the sights and sounds of the holiday season! We’re honored that you chose the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf and thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the many views from our property. We couldn’t be happier that our convenient location worked out so well and that our accommodations met you and your family’s expectations. No matter the occasion, we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    284
    71
    21
    9
See reviews for
339
227
35
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We traveled to Boston to catch an OKC game for my son. The location of this hotel was perfect since it was right across the street from TD Garden. Upon arrival we were greeted by the valet who never once cracked a smile of any sort? when entering the hotel to check in we realized that must be the hotels policy because the front desk also greeted us in the same manner. We brushed it off went up to our rooms bringing our own bags up since everyone just looked at us as if we were invisable. We soon unpacked and off we went. We enjoyed a nice walk around the marina and to the battle ship then to the Oyster House for lunch which they more then made up with the friendly smiles! Woudl I travel back to this hotel? probably not even though I have traveled many Marriott's in my days just check this one off as a experience that was not much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Harbor view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. While your feedback is very much appreciated, we truly regret that your experience at our hotel did not match the high standards of customer service that we’ve set. We can assure you that your comments will be passed along to the appropriate departments to re-emphasize our commitment to exceptional customer service. It seems like you truly made the most out of your trip to Boston and the next time you are in the area, we hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family just spent three wonderful nights at the Residence Inn on Tudor Wharf. The staff was very friendly and the service excellent! The entire place was clean and well maintained. The free breakfast included a large variety of choices and there was always plenty of everything. As we left we watched the front desk staff deal with a difficult customer pleasantly and effectively, giving her excellent service even as she was unpleasant.

It was a quick walk to the T and near a very nice park.

We would certainly consider staying again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWL_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff members, as we couldn’t be happier to learn that your experience reflected the exceptional customer service that we strive for. A trip to the park sounds like the perfect way to spend a relaxing afternoon with the family and we’re glad that our convenient location worked out so well for your stay. Thank you for sharing your family getaway with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. It’s so nice to read that you would consider staying with us again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Recently stayed at the Residence Inn Tudor Wharf in Boston during a weekend getaway and really enjoyed our stay! We had a very nice room with a lovely view of the Bunker Hill bridge. We were lucky to have beautiful weather on the day we arrived, so the sunset that evening from our room was very pretty as it dipped behind the bridge. Our room was very clean, spacious enough for the 2 of us, and extremely quiet....we never heard a sound. The breakfast each morning was wonderful with a full spread...waffles, eggs, sausage, toast, cereals, pastries, fruits, yogurts, coffee, juices, etc. It was also a great way to start our mornings to fuel-up before heading out on foot to enjoy the lovely Boston sites! The location of this Residence Inn is right on the Freedom Trail, so it's easy to head in either direction if you follow the path. It's about a 10 minute walk across the bridge along the trail to all the action, so it's nice to be a little out of the way from the noise but close enough to easily walk to all the great restaurants in the area. The train station is also just across the bridge, which we took down to the Prudential Center to save some time and give our feet a little rest on day two. Overall, an excellent hotel and I'll definitely stay here again whenever I'm back in Boston!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We're delighted that you were able to enjoy beautiful weather during your trip. The sunset from your suite must have been breathtaking! It's always a pleasure when a guest is inspired to share their experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf and the level of detail that you've provided is greatly appreciated. For a weekend getaway, it seems like you truly made the most out of your visit and we appreciate you taking a moment to relive your experience. The next time you are in the area, we look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

IMy office is located very near this hotel and though I often pass by, I'd never had an opportunity stay. As my birthday approached a couple of weeks ago, my husband and I decided to spend a couple of nights in the city since I had to work and combine my birthday celebration with time in the office. We were so pleased with our comfortable harbor view suite with its own little kitchenette. On our first night we purchased a romantic in room picnic from Whole Foods and were just getting settled in when there was a knock on the door. There was a surprise delivery of a birthday gift for me from the staff of the hotel--totally unexpected but so thoughtful. It really made our evening! I would echo what others have written, that the staff here were so friendly and helpful, right down to the valet who helped us with our car for the two days. We're hoping to plan another little getaway soon and stay at the Residence Inn. Thank you all for making our time with you so special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
How wonderful that our staff could make your visit so special! On behalf of all of us here at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, we truly appreciate that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us. Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding the customer service that you and your husband received. What ever the occasion may be, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I made a reservation on line with Marriott for this hotel and made the (hopefully uncharacteristic) mistake of not carefully checking the dates. It was for a big family & friends weeknd, football game, tourist activities, etc. When we cheked in I discovered that the reservation had been made to start the day before we arrived; so, natuarally, they considered us "no shows." It could have been a disaster! But the young lady behind the front desk got to work: the entire hotel was booked, but somehow, she managed to move some rooms around, even called a couple of guests who had not arrived yet to see if they really needed their rooms. Bottom line was she pulled off a minor miracle and got us the rooms we needed, and even did so at a reduced rack rate. Talk about service! Wow! Then on top of that, the hotel is clean, beautiful, centrally located and the breakfast buffet was probably the best "free continental breakfast" I have ever seen. This hotel (and Marriott) get top marks.

Room Tip: Good views all arund, but ask for "harbor view" if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Under the unfortunate circumstance, we’re thrilled that our staff was able to accommodate you! Thank you for sharing your experience, as we truly appreciate your feedback and high praise of our staff. I will kindly pass your review along, as our team will be delighted to read such kind remarks in one review. Thank you for your compliments to our breakfast and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back soon to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while working in Boston in the fall of 2012. Greeted by friendly staff and delightfully surprised by the wonderful view from my suite on the fourth floor, then the rest of my stay was as wonderful as the first day! Even my commute to work was a joy - walking 10 minutes right past the USS Constitution to the Inner Harbor Ferry then boating over to the New England Aquarium and another 10 minute walk to my downtown office. The view I mentioned - my south-facing windows overlooked the marina next to the hotel, the Charles River and over to the North End with the steeple of the Old North Church towering over the buildings there and over to the Custom House with it's clock up on the 27th floor and other downtown buildings - a beautiful view day or night!

Every member of the staff that I interacted with was professional and friendly and definitely made my stay feel like staying with friends or family.

Excellent breakfasts and evening light meals Monday - Thursday were an added value.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people staying in Boston for work and for families coming to Boston for vacation. The Freedom Trail, marked with either a line of bricks or red paint on the walkways passes only a block from the front door. A 15 minute walk can take you to Mike's Bakery in the North End, or to the Cambridge Galleria (a beautiful walk on a newly opened pathway through parks next to the Charles River). Taxis wait right outside the entrance for a quick ride to or from Logan Airport.

I

Room Tip: rooms facing the south have a beautiful view of the inner harbor, the North End and downtown Boston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellis907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
How wonderful that your view was such a pleasant surprise during your stay with us! Day or night, the sights can truly be breathtaking and we appreciate your beautiful description of your experience. It’s always nice to learn how our guest’s spend their valued time with us and we’re delighted that our location worked out so well for your stay. We truly appreciate that you’ve recommended the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf for business travelers and families on vacation! Thank you for sharing your review and no matter the occasion, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing