We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2011

After reading reviews of hotels in the Boston area we were concerned about this hotel's location, not to worry, it is very convenient for touring Boston, couple of nice neighborhood eateries close by. Very clean hotel, good breakfast, but best of all was a wonderful, friendly and very helpful front desk staff. Can't say enough about how friendly they were and their great advice on getting around, things to see and do, and good close by restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblinwreck1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrett, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for the wonderful compliments on our staff! We really appreciate hearing how helpful they were during your stay. The Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf is in a prime location for touring Boston and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed this aspect. We hope you will visit us again and see more of the great Boston attractions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 898 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

The pros of this hotel are many: large room, fabulous harbor view, fine service from front desk and car valet, good value despite high $35 daily parking charge, and a surprisingly good hot breakfast. The only con is the location at the former Navy Yard in Charlestown. About a 15 minute walk to the "T" at North Station or a cab ride to get anywhere. Only one good restaurant within walking distance, but several only a 5 minute drive away in the North End. But even the location has positive aspects: beautiful, quiet surroundings in an historic setting far from the chaos of downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thubner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrett, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful harbor views and large rooms at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. On your next visit, please check with the front desk and they will be happy to point out the many nearby restaurants for you. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Even though this hotel shows up in most hotel sites as located in Cambridge area, it's actually within walking distance from the old town and downtown Boston. It's located right next to USS Constitution and has a great view of the Boston harbor. The only inconvenience of this hotel would be parking, which costs $32 per day for valet at the hotel. There is a public parking right in front which costs $22 per day (outdoor, 1 min walking distance) and an indoor parking which cost $20 per day(3 min walking distance).
Everything else other than parking is great! Every room is a suite with fully equipped kitchen and they even do groceries for you if you stay long.
One of the things that I liked most about this hotel is the complimentary breakfast which includes amazing self served waffles and English muffins. Be sure to try it if you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaqxswcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrett, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the great location, convenient to so many Boston attractions. You described the waffles perfectly…amazing! They are such a huge hit with our guests and we’re so glad that you enjoyed them as well. The parking fee is in place to assure safe and ample parking for all our guests, should they need it. We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Boston at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friend and I just stayed at this hotel for a 3 day weekend. We enjoyed it, because we are just two guys that were there for the weekend to tear up the town and see everything there was to see. We did not want to fork out the money to stay in a plush hotel. This hotel fit what we were looking for: Full Breakfast, Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Close Proximity to Airport, Excellent Staff, Great Hot Tub. The only thing that was bad about this hotel was the beds. Just to hard or firm to be comfortable. But since everything else about this hotel was great, we didn't complain. We normally stay at Renaissance, so we are picky, and this place was acceptable.

If you are a couple looking for somthing more romantic, you should proabably fork out the extra money to stay at the Marriott at Copley. Very nice bar at that hotel. Not to mention all the shopping and restaurants. I'm not sure about the rooms, but if I ever go back to Boston with a mate, I would be looking at the availability of that hotel.

Just a few notes for like travelers: The liquor/beer and convenient store are about 5 blocks away, but very walkable.

The subway is a 8 minute walk away. You can walk across the bridge or the quickest way is across the locks at the dam.

I would recommend taking a cab or shuttle to the hotel when you arrive in Boston if you are not familliar with Boston. It's about $25. But on your departure, you can take the subway back for $2. Ask the staff for help about which subways to take (orange line then transfer to blue line. It's very doable. We made it from the hotel to the airport in 40 minutes on a Sunday.

Also word of advice, take a rain jacket for very changeable weather. We did not, and it was a big mistake. Especially at night when we wanted to go out. Lines at bars are long.

Overall we were pleased with this hotel I would have gave 5 stars if the beds were more comfortable. Just take a look at the map and make sure you are OK with walking across the river to the subway or other attractions.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Blazin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrett, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate your advice for other travelers. We are thankful for your nice words regarding our staff and glad you enjoyed our close proximity to the great attractions of Boston. We hope the next time you and your friend need a getaway you will stay with us again at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Had an excellent experience at the hotel. Had two unfortunate clumsy accidents in the bedroom and rang Reception and they came up straight away (literally within minutes). The hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful, which really counts. The hotel is a little bit outside the main city and you need to walk across the bridge to get there. However I wouldn't say the walk was much of a problem. We got the hop-on-hop-off bus that goes from Stop 3 at USS Naval Yard, if you want to save your legs for the odd day.
I liked that the hotel had a spa tub and swimming pool, so you can relax after a hard days sightseeing around the city.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting the Harbor view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrett, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thank you for your lovely review! It is always wonderful to hear when a guest has an excellent experience with us. We are glad you had the opportunity to relax at our spa tub and pool and see all that Boston has to offer. Your kind words regarding our staff and their attention to your needs are sincerely appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again to the Residence Inn Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed at this hotel while taking part inthe Marathon - excellent facilities and staff.... so a graet choice for me. Would certainly recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCAAppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this clean and friendly place. Very comfortable we can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Book early and use aaa
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mixmasterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 86 in Boston
1,124 reviews
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#29 of 86 in Boston
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $180 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Residence Inn
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing