We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My winter experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was such a comfortable stay in BCH, not hard to find and really easy to get back to your place when you're touring around especially the time I went there is winter.

The location is not bad because it's just behind Amtrak Train station. It is also near the Prudential Tower and other convenient places for tourist.

The price is also worth it, not too expensive and luxurius, you just need a cozy place to stay and rest.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CammyWooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 823 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

This a conference center, not a resort, so the rooms are small but comfortable. A business traveler on a budget can't beat this location. Steps away from the Amtrak and metro stations and easy public transportation access to the airport. I've stayed here many times and though dated, I've never found anything to be unclean. Continental breakfast is decent, and the staff is always attentive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The combination of price and location makes this very attractive. While it is an older facility, it is clean, quiet and safe for a wonderful value….the rooms were comfortable though not luxurious…However, strongly recommend for its convenience and price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmlgorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is excellently situated for all things Back Bay. Economical, neat, clean with congenial staff who will go the extra mile for you. I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and always find it dependable and reliable. Off the beaten path...which is a good thing!

Room Tip: The queen sized rooms are roomier if there is more than one of you or you wish to spread out. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLPMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A name like the Boston Common Hotel would suggest a hotel on the Boston Common! Well I'm afraid not.

The rooms were very dated and small, but that is par for the course with most city hotels. The reception entrance is opposite a car park entrance and not very welcoming staff in my opinion. To be fair to the hotel, you get what you pay for, and the price was good so as we were away for a month travelling through the East Coast we needed to keep costs down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center is a wonderful value if you want to see Boston without spending a fortune on your room. It's an older hotel, tucked away from the noisiest areas, comfy and clean enough, but without parking, so you'll have to use a garage We have returned at least 3 times since we have family nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maybelline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

One reviewer said the hotel is good for visitors who had come to Boston to see the city and not sit in their hotel room staring at the furniture, I was on vacation to 1) Sleep in late and rest and 2) See the city. After I saw my room, I dropped my bags off, and only came home to crash after watching the latest movie, even in the snow storm and declared state of emergency, I was out first thing in the morning, after a quick shower, standing on the ledges straddling the tub, because not only was the bottom chipped and mat molding but it was backing up way above my ankle. No long steamy showers or lounging around in a soft plush bed for me.

That said the convenience of a great location, with access to the subway a 2min walk away, at a reasonable price afforded me the budget for a great time out on the town in Boston, leaving me very little to complain about especially because I did not have a car to get around and on the Other hotels started at $100 more a night up to $500. The staff was great; pleasant and friendly. Free breakfast -Coffee, juice, croissants, danish, bagels, cereal, always a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingIntoAlltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
283 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#73 of 84 in Boston
1,142 reviews
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#81 of 84 in Boston
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#67 of 84 in Boston
964 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 84 in Boston
2,258 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#56 of 84 in Boston
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $164 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing